Guess someone thinks arrogance is a virtue.Originally posted by Gedanken:Of course not - I've just lived in Australia for 14 years and my wife's of Scottish descent, that's all.
My 2 points still intact ok. where got out of point??Originally posted by gigabyte14:out of point already~~~
If singapore is not going to be attack, what is the meaning of total defence, what is the use of going for NS, wasting our brothers, boyfriends, husbands sons, father and even grandpa times. What is the main objective then??Originally posted by piracer:All this talk of Singapore being invaded i think is full of crap. Seriously, no where in the near future or even in 40-100 years can i see Singapore being invaded by our neighbors.
Lets have a look at our neighboring countries:
Malaysia: Come on... You really think its ever going to happen? For hell, our old politicians say we rely on our friends to the north. Not gonna happen.
Indonesia: Part of ASEAN, if this ever happens, the shits gonna hit the ceiling and really im quite sure Indonesia realizes theres no chance with a US navy base here, plus also the fact that the Malaysian will side with us, after all, one of the retreat tactics is to retreat into Malaysia if ever Indonesia hits us.
Thailand: Much too far away for them to do anything to us. Yes they have one air craft carrier, but our air force could take them on easily. A land invasion will be too much trouble, and all for what?
Laos, Cambodia, Burma/Myanmar, Vietnam: I really don't think they have anything against us or ever will.
So, as we can see, there is a need for an army, yes, but for NS? Not too sure. Our defence force is really surrounded and aimed towards our commandos and our air force. I often read of our support battalions being sent off to New Zealand and India to fight in the rolling hills and deserts of those countries. Wait a moment, when did Singapore EVER have those types of terrains? Oh yeah maybe 200 years ago... but not now. The way the army is training our soldiers i feel is going in the wrong direction, and for the wrong reasons, i personally feel this is caused by the old politicians still in parliament. Not that they did a bad job making singapore what it is now, but its time for a change.
This 2 years is really ridiculous, whoever said we need that time to train NS guys must be stupid. The swiss and the dutch do it for 6 months, thats all they need. Put us in the companies and battalions and whatever, yes incase of the ever need to do whatever. That would take a year, whats the extra year for? My brother and my cousins both went in, it became an extra year of crap, total waste of time in the governments money and their time. Its a hell of a pity considering a lot can be done in one year.
Originally posted by Thecarlover:its because they have more money then sg guys , the so-called ang-mo-lang that we often hear in singapore are americans. so thats the reason sg girls like ang-mo-lang cos they like to be unique, to be called like ang-mo-liu-lian something like that lah.they dun want to be called , example:peter's wife, john's wife,they want something special and unique when people call them.
Even if it is WW2 german equipement, dun you think we follow the america design, and belgium made guns/rifle is also under license right of US military code.Originally posted by one-niner:I do recalled using the word Design and not materials used. Of course manufacturing process will improve with times.
I hope you take back the word weak singaporean men back. The very fact that an ordinary singapore is being called on to don a military uniform, bear arms and be ready always is not weak in my opinion. Did your dad do NS ?
The GBMG is called the General Purpose Machine Gun, and it was purchased from the Belgians initially.
When you mentioned adopted system, are you referring to technology or how the SAF will conduct a military operation ?
Lastly, we don't just train with the US troops for starters, there are other armed forces out there whom we , the SAF would train with and learn from.
Mods, do kindly lock this thread if OPSEC pertaining to US Naval presence is deemed as too sensitive to be discussed here.
If Switzerland can do it, why couldn't SG ?Originally posted by THE ANALYST:Jojobeach,
firstly thanks for appreciating the Singapore guys.
Secondly, I for one would love it if the National Service duration was reduced from its current 2 years, one thing you have to realise is that this would only be possible if the operational effectiveness of the SAF is not affected and compromised.
It takes time for soldiers to learn the soldiering skills and to learn how to operate the different equipment. Therefore cutting NS time is only possible if the SAF can find a way to train the soldiers in a shorter time and the operational and combat capability of the SAF can be maintained at the same time.
It is true, as long as he remains in Singapore.Originally posted by soleachip:![]()
No lah, women choose ang moh because it's generally agreed that angmohs:
- Have robust genes (height, dicks among other physical attributes)
- Have thicker wallets
- Are more sophisticated/cultured/exciting because they come from a different culture
So it's natural selection lah and westerners here tend to possess higher levels of 3Ts - education level, physical height and salary level - any smart and tall man with good cash flow potential will attract women anywhere in the world.
What language do you purport to be speaking?Originally posted by angel7030:Glacia senor Gedanken, Goten Morgan ya.
Ciao!
Teochew mixed with hainam, hokkien and cantonese.Originally posted by Gedanken:What language do you purport to be speaking?
To expand on the point, the GPMG used by the SAF is the Fabrique Nationale MAG from Belgium. All the time when the SAF was using the MAG, the Americans insisted on using thier locally-designed M60 until the mid-1990's when they finally acknowledged that the MAG was in fact more effective than the M60, and adopted it as the M240.Originally posted by one-niner:The GBMG is called the General Purpose Machine Gun, and it was purchased from the Belgians initially.
Is this meant to be a court, a church, or some jerryrigged job you dreamed up?Originally posted by angel7030:Bonk bonk!!! speak the truth, nothing but the truth. Amen.
There are so may things wrong with this statement as to beggar belief. Plastic helmets?Originally posted by angel7030:Today helmet are made of light weigh material (plastic) and not some cast iron metal steel of the old WWII type.
That's interesting. Wherever did you dream up the idea that the Americans instructed the Israelis to do so?Originally posted by angel7030:And it is the instruction of the American to ask Israel to first train the Singapore weak men to be soldier by providing arms and equipment, because in geopolitical speaking, Singapore condition do resemble Israel where it is surrounded by Muslim countries.
Ah well, you're probably too young to remember the Vosper yards at Kallang, and the Hawker Hunters that the RSAF started out with. Suffice to say that neither are American.Originally posted by angel7030:Even the Air forces and navies bought their aircrafts and ships from the American, or at least consulted the American if SAF budget is too low for modern crafts.
Oh really? Please describe Singapore's ORBAT, if you even know what that is.Originally posted by angel7030:I am saying SAF is adopting the US style, their hierrachy system, reporting system, training system and even communication system.
The threadstarter is not oldkid. Case dismissed on grounds that there is no case to answer.Originally posted by angel7030:Now your honor, Look at these SGmen, sometime they get jealous we go for ang mo, then now they said it is ok to go with ang mo, weird isn't it.
I have lived in Oz for the past 14 years and my wife is of Scottish descent. What's arrogant about that?Originally posted by randall.11:Guess someone thinks arrogance is a virtue.![]()
Two words: Red Flag. If you don't know about that, don't try running before you can crawl.Originally posted by angel7030:The Air forces, with it arrogance pilots flying up and down Singapore making so much noises, one day I am going to shoot them down, yet they go australia, US train and have free holiday, gals, and enjoy with high class clubs, and well paid, for what, did they experienced dog fight, just flew from changi to tuas and go back only, waste our tax money, and jet fuel is damn expensive now ok. We pay them to fly and disturb us.
Yup, that about covers the extent of your worldliness.Originally posted by angel7030:Teochew mixed with hainam, hokkien and cantonese.
A bit of a generalisation, but not too far off the mark.Originally posted by Alfresco:SG Gals don appreciate guys because : (Guys don't deny.......cos its TRUE !!!)
The problems with GUYS:
If u TREAT him nicely, he says u are IN LOVE with him. If u Don't, he says u are PROUD.
If u DRESS Nicely, he says u are trying to LURE him; If u Don't, he says u are from KAMPUNG.
If u ARGUE with him, he says u are STUBBORN;If u keep QUIET, he says u have no BRAINS.
If u are SMARTER than him, he'll lose FACE; If he's Smarter than u, he is GREAT.
If u don't Love him, he tries to POSSESS u; If u Love him, he will try to LEAVE u.(very true huh?)
If u don't make love with him., he says u don't Love him; If u do!! he says u are CHEAP.
If u tell him your PROBLEM, he says u are TROUBLESOME;If u don't, he says that u don't TRUST him;
If u SCOLD him, u are like a NANNY to him;I f he SCOLDS u, it is for your OWN GOOD, because he CARES for u.
If u BREAKyour PROMISE, u Cannot be TRUSTED;If he BREAKS his, he is FORCED to do so;
If u SMOKE, u are a BAD girl;If he SMOKES, he is a GENTLEMAN;
If u do WELL in your exams, he says it's LUCK;If he does WELL, it's Because He GOT BRAINS;
If u HURT him, u are CRUEL;If he HURTS u, u are too SENSITIVE!!
You wana be in denial, ain't my problemOriginally posted by Gedanken:I have lived in Oz for the past 14 years and my wife is of Scottish descent. What's arrogant about that?
Help finally arrived. Yeah! reinforcement for me...tksOriginally posted by Alfresco:SG Gals don appreciate guys because : (Guys don't deny.......cos its TRUE !!!)
The problems with GUYS:
If u TREAT him nicely, he says u are IN LOVE with him. If u Don't, he says u are PROUD.
If u DRESS Nicely, he says u are trying to LURE him; If u Don't, he says u are from KAMPUNG.
If u ARGUE with him, he says u are STUBBORN;If u keep QUIET, he says u have no BRAINS.
If u are SMARTER than him, he'll lose FACE; If he's Smarter than u, he is GREAT.
If u don't Love him, he tries to POSSESS u; If u Love him, he will try to LEAVE u.(very true huh?)
If u don't make love with him., he says u don't Love him; If u do!! he says u are CHEAP.
If u tell him your PROBLEM, he says u are TROUBLESOME;If u don't, he says that u don't TRUST him;
If u SCOLD him, u are like a NANNY to him;I f he SCOLDS u, it is for your OWN GOOD, because he CARES for u.
If u BREAKyour PROMISE, u Cannot be TRUSTED;If he BREAKS his, he is FORCED to do so;
If u SMOKE, u are a BAD girl;If he SMOKES, he is a GENTLEMAN;
If u do WELL in your exams, he says it's LUCK;If he does WELL, it's Because He GOT BRAINS;
If u HURT him, u are CRUEL;If he HURTS u, u are too SENSITIVE!!
Girl, this applies to men , not just SG men.Originally posted by angel7030:Help finally arrived. Yeah! reinforcement for me...tks
What would I be in denial about?Originally posted by randall.11:You wana be in denial, ain't my problem
Your scottish wife is the one living with you.![]()