Touché!Originally posted by jojobeach:Noticed that Gary Chapman IS another Ang Moh ?
Indeed? Don't break any bones thumping your chest, little one.Originally posted by Nikar2:lost track of this post liao....
so, now is it Angel and Jojo VS. final boss Gendakan???!!!
I WILL NUKE YOU!!!!!!!
he's a poor little literature nerd whom all chicks wouldn't even cast a second look.
they would rather busy themselves with old ang-moh literature professors instead.
Gedanken, where you serve ah? If dun wan to say here can also pm me.Originally posted by Gedanken:Indeed? Don't break any bones thumping your chest, little one.
I wouldn't characterise it as a case of jojo versus me. She's raising some points, and I'm responding. There's no real argie-bargie going on here.
You never answered my question, by the way - where did you serve your NS? Was it in some "real man" vocation?
No problems, the guys at Mil Nuts and SAF forums already know. I was a demolitions man at 1CDO - real nerd stuff.Originally posted by eagle:Gedanken, where you serve ah? If dun wan to say here can also pm me.
Me served as Brigade Recce![]()
LRRP ah... Division level worOriginally posted by Gedanken:No problems, the guys at Mil Nuts and SAF forums already know. I was a demolitions man at 1CDO - real nerd stuff.
Recce? Kaki nang lah - LRRP here.![]()
During my time, there wasn't any formal POW training. I heard some rumour that it had been put on freeze because of some incident that happened before, but that was never confirmed. Not that they didn't sneak it into the training anyway, but you just work to survive that sort of thing.Originally posted by eagle:LRRP ah... Division level wor
How was your POW training ah? Mine was the batch just before the person died at dunking![]()
Originally posted by Gedanken:During my time, there wasn't any formal POW training. I heard some rumour that it had been put on freeze because of some incident that happened before, but that was never confirmed. Not that they didn't sneak it into the training anyway, but you just work to survive that sort of thing.
Vis-a-vis the dunking case, Pandiaraj was my batch boy and Bala was my drinking buddy. I was majorly honked off when MINDEF left them holding the bag on that one.
Ah, Bala was rough round the edges (he still is, actually), but he was a great bloke once you got to know him.Originally posted by eagle:![]()
Bala yanked me up from the ground by pulling my long 4, and a button broke
Well, his progress through the ranks was somewhat unsteady. The sad irony was if he'd kept up his old style, he wouldn't have made warrant and he wouldn't have been there to cop the blame when the proverbial hit the fan.Originally posted by eagle:Heard he got demoted before for *ahem*... Shall not mention here.... Is it true?
I don't remember the other instructors already, only the one with the storyOriginally posted by Gedanken:Ah, Bala was rough round the edges (he still is, actually), but he was a great bloke once you got to know him.
Did you have Chris and Ari as your instructors as well? Those two wild men were from my company too.
You never answered my question, by the way - where did you serve your NS? Was it in some "real man" vocation?fortunately, i had the ultimate honor of not serving in a "real man" vocation.i served as an assistant General Equipment storeman (CQ) in the SAF Ammo Base.
Ah, I see. So that's where you were coming from when you wrote:Originally posted by Nikar2:fortunately, i had the ultimate honor of not serving in a "real man" vocation.i served as an assistant General Equipment storeman (CQ) in the SAF Ammo Base.
My God, from the above passage it seems you were making out to be some hero, but as it turns out, you're a weedy little REMF comforting yourself that your pasty butt is safe in some storeroom somewhere while the rest of us do the real work. Fancy that - a wimp calling someone else a nerd.Originally posted by Nikar2:last time when i was in the army, the guys, especially chinese ones, love to whine about how tough it is, how hard, and still keep finding ways to slack, complain, complain, complain, play petty politics....BE A REAL MAN, YA???!!!
Just for information, the motto is: "first to go in, last to come out"Originally posted by Nikar2:(Gendakan)
fortunately, i had the ultimate honor of not serving in a "real man" vocation.i served as an assistant General Equipment storeman (CQ) in the SAF Ammo Base.
i hope you didn't serve as some nerdy clerk holed up in an air-con room, or worse still, serve as a infantryman, guard or commando, because when war comes, your family will be throwing small rectangular white papers into the air while the casket entourage walk some distance along the streets of your neighbour.
REJOICE!!!!!!!
Hell, eagle, our AO is the safest place to be in the event of war. Being a helluva long way behind enemy lines, we may be far from backup, but the bad guys don't expect us to be there.Originally posted by eagle:Just for information, the motto is: "first to go in, last to come out"
What happens in war... When everyone has died/the war is over, recce will most likely still be in the forest somewhere. (Reservist recce mostly put on defence recce, very safe one, dun need to worry)
That info's a tad sensitive, isn't it?Originally posted by Gedanken:Hell, eagle, our AO is the safest place to be in the event of war. Being ***** behind enemy lines, we may be far from backup, but the bad guys don't expect us to be there.
Ehh, I'd expect the neighbours to know well enough what LRRPs do. Still and all, judgement is the better part of valour - edited.Originally posted by Kuali Baba:That info's a tad sensitive, isn't it?![]()
my unit called it OP, Observation PointOriginally posted by Gedanken:Hell, eagle, our AO is the safest place to be in the event of war. Being a helluva long way behind enemy lines, we may be far from backup, but the bad guys don't expect us to be there.
actually not really. The enemy will also send the same troops into our own territory. Everyone knows there is such thing, just whether they manage to detectOriginally posted by Kuali Baba:That info's a tad sensitive, isn't it?![]()
Nah, I meant Area of Operations.Originally posted by eagle:my unit called it OP, Observation Point
Haha... Many many abbreviationsOriginally posted by Gedanken:Nah, I meant Area of Operations.