Originally posted by Kuali Baba:What's being a gentleman all about? The way I see it, it's really simply behaving like a considerate and upright person. A decent lady is
capable of doing the same thing. The definition that includes pampering womenfolk and giving them the benefit of the doubt all the time
without reciprocation is nonsense, and even abuse, to me. You don't have to entertain women who think that way if you don't like it.Look at the points in my first post and you'll see that you can apply most of them to any decent and charming person of either gender.
I won't talk about the situation you mentioned because it's unrealistic. But people choose the easy paths that yield the most reward for
the least effort - which is why some girls have given up on local guys and some guys turn to mail-order brides. If they are discerning
enough they'll give people of any race who matches what they're looking for a chance.
nah. i'm good. i know what you mean really. but i'm just incredulous that there are girls with such narrow mindset, and they veil it with righteousness, like "oh it's not MY fault, that you guys suck" but it's so not true!
i just dislike that veiling part. really dislike it. i mean, be honest about it. don't try to make yourself look as if you did nothing wrong, when your intentions are wrong. it's such a bold sweeping statement to make. "Oh, because ang mo guys are gentlemanly" so you're trying to say that you like gentlemanly guys.
but if being gentlemanly is a criteria you're looking for, and you end up with an ang mo, so you're either saying that there're TOTALLY NO gentlemanly guys in singapore, or you're lying. and guess what? it's safer to say that they're lying.
it's always easier to prove that something exist, than something don't exist.
Originally posted by motoway:
AY. FROM THE HANDFUL I KNOW. NONE IS LIKE THAT. I nv said they don't exist.
then don't highlight the word none, you donkey. you implied it with that word, you didn't have to say it. and as for getting personal, yeah i do feel personal when you implied that i didn't have a brain.
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:nah. i'm good. i know what you mean really. but i'm just incredulous that there are girls with such narrow mindset, and they veil it with righteousness, like "oh it's not MY fault, that you guys suck" but it's so not true!
i just dislike that veiling part. really dislike it. i mean, be honest about it. don't try to make yourself look as if you did nothing wrong, when your intentions are wrong. it's such a bold sweeping statement to make. "Oh, because ang mo guys are gentlemanly" so you're trying to say that you like gentlemanly guys.
but if being gentlemanly is a criteria you're looking for, and you end up with an ang mo, so you're either saying that there're TOTALLY NO gentlemanly guys in singapore, or you're lying. and guess what? it's safer to say that they're lying.
it's always easier to prove that something exist, than something don't exist.
Okay, point made. You may step down from the soapbox. ![]()
" -Take yourselves less seriously FFS - it takes bigger balls to do that. And no-one likes a wanker. "
Orite den. Although i dont see how highlighting one word made such a huge difference.
Originally posted by jojobeach:When I was very young.
My mother tell me to find a man who loves me more than I love him. That he is well to do and can afford to give me a good life. That way my life will be good.
Then my mother tell my brother to find a woman who loves him more than he loves her. So that she will sacrifice for him and be a good wife to him. And make sure she is no gold digger. That way his life will be good.
May the force be with you.
Haha.. exactly!
Speaking of brains...how could anybody sit through that teenybopper trash (the Youtube video on page 3) without sustaining brain damage? I bailed within 2 seconds. ![]()
last time when guy comment bout gals, ppl argue.
Now, when guy comment bout guy, ppl also argue, and the gals laughing behind the scene lol
naw at work now. cant access youtube. =D
Is the teenybopper by chance celest chen?
Originally posted by motoway:" -Take yourselves less seriously FFS - it takes bigger balls to do that. And no-one likes a wanker. "
Orite den. Although i dont see how highlighting one word made such a huge difference.
unfortunately, that's how things work. it's never about how you try to convey the message, it's always about how the other person interprets and receives the message.
it's idealistic to say that "oh we all bleed the same blood, we're all the same, there's no such thing as status etc"
but reality is this, that having an ang mo bf/gf raises your status. it's just not spoken of, but most, if not all, people subconsciously think that way.
that's just bullcrap.
good. i've made my point clear. if not everyone here will give me grief about how immature i am for thinking that this "status" idealogy is real. or that it's not true when i said that some girls' idea of what a gentleman is is flawed to begin with.. blah blah. zzz, idiots.
Originally posted by motoway:naw at work now. cant access youtube. =D
yep.
Speaking of brains...how could anybody sit through that teenybopper trash (the Youtube video on page 3) without sustaining brain damage? I bailed within 2 seconds.
sheer willpower driven by anger at her words
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:unfortunately, that's how things work. it's never about how you try to convey the message, it's always about how the other person interprets and receives the message.
it's idealistic to say that "oh we all bleed the same blood, we're all the same, there's no such thing as status etc"
but reality is this, that having an ang mo bf/gf raises your status. it's just not spoken of, but most, if not all, people subconsciously think that way.
that's just bullcrap.
good. i've made my point clear. if not everyone here will give me grief about how immature i am for thinking that this "status" idealogy is real. zzz, idiots.
dun quote me on the same blood thing dude. it ain't me.
Anyway the celeste chen is a well-known attention whore. She reeks of desperation.
Originally posted by motoway:naw at work now. cant access youtube. =D
Yea... is she another youtube "celebrity"?
Originally posted by DriftingGuy:
Yea... is she another youtube "celebrity"?
erm. kinda. She was in the papers a few months back for posting dance ( like a club-stripper IMHO) clips on tube.
attention seeker.. i know some in this forum lol
Originally posted by motoway:
dun quote me on the same blood thing dude. it ain't me.Anyway the celeste chen is a well-known attention whore. She reeks of desperation.
i know. he's included in the social caste of "blithering idiots". like wtf man. he live life with his eyes closed ah? social caste don't exist.. fucking idiot.
i know i know she sucks, but it doesn't excuse the fact that there are girls who think this way, and girls who go for ang mo guys are generally using her idea of how a gentleman should be like as the benchmark standard for sg guys, which excuses them from looking like a traitor when they go for ang mo guys.
"Oh, because there is no gentlemanly guys in singapore"... fucking idiots.
and that idiot, whatever his nick is, grow some eyes and look at the world la. no such thing as social class? retard.
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:i know. he's included in the social caste of "blithering idiots". like wtf man. he live life with his eyes closed ah? social caste don't exist.. fucking idiot.
i know i know she sucks, but it doesn't excuse the fact that there are girls who think this way, and girls who go for ang mo guys are generally using her idea of how a gentleman should be like as the benchmark standard for sg guys, which excuses them from looking like a traitor when they go for ang mo guys.
anywhere, anyplace, there will be gentleman. Just some gals think too highly of guys expecting the guys to behave the perfect gentleman when they dont behave like a women.. an eyesore lol
and what's with the term HAM anyway. "oh! i snagged a HAM at the club today." "oh! i found some delicious HAM!" and post pictures of them with ang mo to prove it. zzz
okok, i finally sort it out. i'm ok if a girl is direct and truthful about why she dates only rich guys etc. i've got a friend who says that she dates only rich guys because she can't live with someone who cannot support her lifestyle, because her background is rich type. that i can accept leh really.
but i really get mad when girls who do that, but they try to be pretentious and say stuff like "oh, because sg guys aren't gentlemanly" etc.
Originally posted by dumbdumb!:i know. he's included in the social caste of "blithering idiots". like wtf man. he live life with his eyes closed ah? social caste don't exist.. fucking idiot.
and that idiot, whatever his nick is, grow some eyes and look at the world la. no such thing as social class? retard.
Actually, such ethnicity-based casting only exists in people's heads if they allow themselves to believe it and act as if it does exist.
We don't have to oblige such deluded women to look harder among the local population. Even their white boyfriends (or at least the upright ones) will abandon them if they treat fellow S'poreans like horse turd and are just pretentious bints.
Originally posted by Kuali Baba:Actually, such ethnicity-based casting only exists in people's heads if they allow themselves to believe it and act as if it does exist.
We don't have to oblige such deluded women to look harder among the local population. Even their white boyfriends (or at least the upright ones) will abandon them if they treat fellow S'poreans like horse turd and are just pretentious bints.
true, there are nice girls out there. but it's also true that idiotic girls are out there too. and just because the nice girls are there, doesn't mean that the idiotic girls don't need to get ranted at.
the world would be boring if everything and everyone is so perfect.
Originally posted by Zarks:the world would be boring if everything and everyone is so perfect.
Problems arise when people *expect* other people to accept their imperfections and entertain their complaints. Even if they're understandable, they're not always acceptable or even justified.
An example of how loser SOME (not all) Sg men can get is the number of threads they start on this forum, criticising Sg women...heheh.
As for Sg women dating Ang-moh guys, I don't know why SOME (not all) Sg men are so sensitive about this issue. Some of us view Ang mohs as people like us (not much of a difference).
From the forum replies on this topic alone, you can pick out the losers. :)
^eats popcorn^
IMHO, it is not the blatant criticism of SG guys "gentlemenliness" (if there is such a term) that has got the blood pumping, but it is the comparisons between local guys and Ang Moh guys.
Why? Perhaps it's because the average Ang Moh guy represents ideals and cultures that we'd love to adhere to. And maybe we're just envious of all the attention that they can get, sometimes with a literal snap of their fingers.
Go to any clubs that have Ang Mohs as an integral part of their patronage and you'll see. If you're an Ang Moh, average looking and of suitable age, you'll got more stares (from both genders) than our local equivalent. I used to work at a club. I know.
You'd be surprised at the number of ways that our local girls have to attract an Ang Moh's attention.
I'm not being racially-biased here, I've got quite a few good ang moh friends.
I've got nothing against them, or any other ethnicities.
Though I do have beef against generalism (i.e. aiyoh, all guys like dat lah..) and discrimination (i.e. local guys not good lah, french guys best)
But, if you use the terms favouritism and preference, then I can't say much.
Aaahh.. the liabilities of language.
Sometimes, you just can't seem to find the words to put your thoughts across.
Other times, it seems that a person is wrong, but can't be proven wrong, as he is right on a technicality.
Anyway, thanks all for the brain juice. Hear, hear!
Cheers!
actually, SG guys should:
1) stop taking themselves so seriously
2) realize that certificates and academic crap are not everything
3) the quality of the banana in their pants is the most important
4) realize that sg girls, especially the chinese pretty ones, are the best deal in the world
5) stop being so focused on work and corporate crap
6) learn to pursue unique, different interests (currently, all SG guys = soccer + cars. Period)
7) have more character
8) be more sweet and romantic
9) be more creative
10) wank more and dare to embrace their sexuality
11) stop complaining and whining so much (last time in NS, all the guys whine like mad....food bad also complain, food good also complain, a bit of hardship also complain)
12) stop back-stabbing others and behave like real men
13) realize that if you start becoming a real man, girls like jojobeach and angel0730 will be eating out of your pants
Originally posted by Nikar 3:actually, SG guys should:
1) stop taking themselves so seriously
2) realize that certificates and academic crap are not everything
3) the quality of the banana in their pants is the most important
4) realize that sg girls, especially the chinese pretty ones, are the best deal in the world
5) stop being so focused on work and corporate crap
6) learn to pursue unique, different interests (currently, all SG guys = soccer + cars. Period)
7) have more character
8) be more sweet and romantic
9) be more creative
10) wank more and dare to embrace their sexuality
11) stop complaining and whining so much (last time in NS, all the guys whine like mad....food bad also complain, food good also complain, a bit of hardship also complain)
12) stop back-stabbing others and behave like real men
13) realize that if you start becoming a real man, girls like jojobeach and angel0730 will be eating out of your pants
1) yeap.
2) not everything, but deifinitely imporatnt enough. besides being ambitious is not exactly a demerit.
3)this problem plagues all men, not just sg men.
4)wtf. yea right.
5)like i said, no. 2
6)ladies should learn to appreciate our likes and dislikes, its akin to saying that ladies should stop shopping and learn to enjoy other activities.
7)meaning?
8)seen my fair share of sweet loving ones, as well as retarded fucktards.
9)
specify pls.
10)im sure that we dont wank enough
porn anyone?
11)its human nature to complain and whine- im sure you too whine and complain about your job, your boss, your grades etc.
12)ah pls. all people backstab, its rooted in our selfish, self-centred nature.
13)i dont see the pt of becoming 'a real man' if i cant find 'a real lady'.
well, im sorry, but your observations simply reek of hypocrisy and irrevelant inaccuracies.
good try tho.