Originally posted by OCEANOS:Ironic it seems. If they are rich they would'nt be staying at 4 room flat at outskirt of Singapore. It more of a case where parents wants to provide the best or whatever they can for their offsprings. Good or bad not for outsider to decide.
Depends how the parents were brought up also. Providing the best is thier intentions, but we can see the varying amount of $$$ in terms of the intentions. Good or bad , we can see how the kids are raised.
Originally posted by BadzMaro:Depends how the parents were brought up also. Providing the best is thier intentions, but we can see the varying amount of $$$ in terms of the intentions. Good or bad , we can see how the kids are raised.
I can tell you the parents are not born with silverspoon, they work hard for what they have today. Thats my intuition.
Well Money is essential in aspects of live especially in such an era such a Society. The amount varies depends on are you contented with what you have, i can tell you many are not.
Agnes just a pampered child who is naive & do not know the Real World, trying to "AA" & she got it in a negative way.
Originally posted by deathmaster:alot of ppl are too used to $500 allowances. i don't kinda approve of it, when ppl of similar age are slogging out at fast food chain to earn that kind of pay, while those rich kids just laze around, getting that $500 simply becos their parents are rich.
they are the group of people most easily to become out of touch with reality, not understanding the hardship ordinary people have to go through, living in a sheltered environment, that only exist when their parents are alive and working.
i think that they may never be financially independent in the real work, earning a "real-world" wage of $2-4k /mnth with that kind of spending habits, unless they are going to take over their family business etc.
then parents earn so much for fuck? bring to their coffin?
parents earn good money so to make sure their child is having a comfortable life.. a good childhood, teenhood =.=
i no money work work work neglect study + food like shit
i got money i go school go buy things and can go home and study + have a good meal...
which is better?
don't any how scold rich kids..they have their own pressure given by parents.. if u think that that $500 is alot, think again..
rich kids help the economy stable okay!
-_-"
Originally posted by OCEANOS:
Why? Miss me arhn? I been extremely busy lately...
Haha yeah! I like the way you present yourself online, very elven.
Glad you're back.
hmm.. i'm living in a pretty good life.. but i know that my dad worked very hard for us, and my mum's trifty to a fault.. tts why we can live in a condo and hv pretty nice things now.
my dad started off with nothing too. since my grand dad passed when he was 20? and my mum's family isn't v rich too. really blessed.
but i think being rich is also about how u spend ur money? a penny saved is a penny earned, i believe? i definitely.. can't agree to shopping for branded stuff all the time etc.
i mean, once awhile is fine.. but i know someone who is rather relaxed with money - because she believes that it's alright, so long as you spend within your means.. whereas.. i'm abit more trifty, even if i can afford it, i rather.. not spend it, being slightly cheap, as some would call it?
but it's also how we were brought up.. like i said.. my parents didn't have much, but because they were trifty, we can live comfortably now. and that's the value i grew up in.. while for her.. her mum's quite relaxed with money too.. splurging on restaurants now and then, and and feeling no pain in buying jewellery like thousand dollar rings now and then.
and sometimes i feel a little uncomfortable at how they spend.. am i right to feel that way?
i mean.. i don't know. is it necessary for girls to go pedicure and facial etc? each time pedicure is $30-40?
tts $30 gone per mth.
i dun really think so and facial could be pretty expensive for me i have sensitive skin the think is to use the correct product its not about brand
if acne is the problem dun go facial ,go to a docter and ask for clindagel it works for me 48 dollars per bottle last abt 3 months
What next? Defamatio nsuit against TNP?
Originally posted by OCEANOS:Ironic it seems. If they are rich they would'nt be staying at 4 room flat at outskirt of Singapore. It more of a case where parents wants to provide the best or whatever they can for their offsprings. Good or bad not for outsider to decide.
Yeah, like what the Fudgester said. The article is essentially flamebait.
Ah well, let those without sin cast the first stone.
i felt stupid when i finish reading all the post. stupid that on last sunday i was telling of my friend in NTU "if you ever see that girl, slap or something for me". felt stupid that i really believe straits time so easily. Thank goodness i don't studying in NTU or something, else might really hurt that poor girl. Hope she can get a proper apology from ST, and maybe high time i stop daily habit of reading ST
and seldom we see Jason himself come speak up on issues. Wow.
Originally posted by snk86:i felt stupid when i finish reading all the post. stupid that on last sunday i was telling of my friend in NTU "if you ever see that girl, slap or something for me". felt stupid that i really believe straits time so easily. Thank goodness i don't studying in NTU or something, else might really hurt that poor girl. Hope she can get a proper apology from ST, and maybe high time i stop daily habit of reading ST
and seldom we see Jason himself come speak up on issues. Wow.
THe last time ST did something proper was their investigative report on NKF and its dodgy chiefs.
But the thing about working in hte media is that integrity can't guarantee you will stay long in the job. All honest opinions have to be suppressed, no matter how they are.
well that female dog that did the reporting seems to be proud of her article man, thats the pissing of part.
Originally posted by snk86:well that female dog that did the reporting seems to be proud of her article man, thats the pissing of part.
how do you know she is proud of it
u know her meh
hmm. how would u deal with a gf who is spendthirft?
what is ur limit on the way she spends money?
can we limit the way she spends money?
or her parents can?
If you have a spendthrift as a gf and you cannot afford it, she will dump you eventually.
It is not the boyfriend's business to limit the spending of her gf.
The gf is old enough to take care of her finances.
As for the news article, it is just the lifestyle of another rich gal.
The reporter is in not position to condemn the rich gal cos she is spending her own daddy's money and not her money.
There is nothing to be jealous or angry about.
her expenses quite mild leh
i feel that shes a bo chap kia that does not bother about wats going around her.... shes the type of scum that will sell her own parents for money.... and there is not a single reason in saying y she isnt a rich spoilt brat.... 500 dollars in sec sch??? shes eating gold in sch issit??? and please dont think im supporting the ST, im not. i just hate to see these kind of people, i mean come on man, here people suffering to pay bills then people like these make u feel as though ur a poor peasant that has to slog day and nite, while people like these can go and burn money like toilet paper.
ok if ull think im biased then we look at a open perspective...
1. Shes rich
2. Shes not refusing that shes rich
3. She admits that she has the expensive phone, or the expensive makeup bullshit.
4. she say that shes misquoted, that means that the news in the article are partially true.
5. she does not deny about the secondary sch pocket money or the LV bag.
Thus, with this, people, i leave it to you'll to decide whether she is a spoilt rich kid. As much i hate to say it, although she lacks discipline and self control, and is immatured, her parents are the ones to be blamed. But nothing much can be said, shes also part of the elitist scum.
wow lad da made it sticky in all the forums sia
not sure about what jba007 said..
500 bucks means rich meh?
i find your views quite personal attacking leh.......
Maybe she eats out often during sec school leh?
fact of the matter is that ST was really being unprofessional.
hmmm, i wonder if they would speak about this matter.....
don't judge too quickly, really.
I find it quite stupid to interfere with other ppl's life. Esp those who condemn her on her blog comment this, comment that after only reading the newspaper. We do not really understand her in person, why is there so much to condemn?
I dont really care even if she is really a spoilt brat and look down on ppl who work part time job. It has done nothing useful to me and to the society.
And if the reporter hav so much time, go dig out useful news like poor old ppl suffering from poverty in spore and increase our awareness of our country. That is why I dislike ST newspaper more and more.
Well, you call that rich spoilt brats, then what do you call the really rich spoilt brats?
Well, I do not own branded goods, i'm in poly but i spend around 1k on alcohol and cig almost every month...
The thing is that if you cannot afford the life style people are in, do not envy and try to flame that party... think of ways to make yourself afford the lifestyle that you envy and not dwell in jealousy...
Erm... would i be next to be flamed? ![]()
Originally posted by JBA007:ok if ull think im biased then we look at a open perspective...
1. Shes rich
2. Shes not refusing that shes rich
3. She admits that she has the expensive phone, or the expensive makeup bullshit.
4. she say that shes misquoted, that means that the news in the article are partially true.
5. she does not deny about the secondary sch pocket money or the LV bag.
Thus, with this, people, i leave it to you'll to decide whether she is a spoilt rich kid. As much i hate to say it, although she lacks discipline and self control, and is immatured, her parents are the ones to be blamed. But nothing much can be said, shes also part of the elitist scum.
1. Being rich is a crime?
2. Admitting that she's rich is a crime?
3. Having an expensive phone is a crime?
4. Misquotes can be a very bad thing. Leaving little bits out and inventing other bits can change the story altogether. Even simple summarization of facts can be a bad thing if it changes the context altogether - as what happened here.
Don't believe me? Instead of saying 'You smell nice today, darling' to your girlfriend, just try saying 'You smell' to her. Sentence summarization mah.....
5. So she has money. And she dreams of buying an LV bag.
So? She did say that she only dreams of it. I dream of buying a Lamborghini. Am I an elitist scum?
At the end of the day...... what the heck is your beef with her?