Singapore's gaming industry is crap. Be prepared to (spend money) and work in the United States if you want a successful career.Those high paying one includes Bungie Studios, Valve etc etc which is the world's known companies.
Common posts here are low paid GM/mods etc in online MMORGS, with no career.
Originally posted by Cybercrashx:i already looked it up it was mostly about animating videos, yea i am interested in that but not as a career, and regardign the diploma it's game design and developement, on sp, there some course alike in other poly but it isint as good. well if scripting for like 6 hour + is lazy , i really doubt what ur capable of. i have my own concepts and idea of small games i would like to make, but that's just part time stuff, it will the most bring 100 buck from the ads put at my game a month that's all.oh fyi, i do have my map up on gamespot, i have no idea who put it up though, it took me liek 6+ hours of scripting, if u think ur so hard working and efficient , come up with something as good, if u cant , take ur criticism and fk off
Are u somesort of typical singaporean out-casted faggot? which can instantly jump to conclusion without much consideration with ur miniture brain. you can simply make assumption with no evidence at all, well i doubt most of ur post are relevent to the topic, when someone ask for a game developer carrier position, u give them some video animation company that make cold storage ads showing apple and milk boxes jumping around. sigh sadly this forum have unintellectual people like you posting near 5k of crappy post around,how sad.
What makes you think you're good enough to earn yourself a career in the game industry?
Please don't mention about your silly game maps which most kids around the world can also made them with the kindly provided map making tools in-game.
Looking at how show-off you are about your little puny silly map, I can tell you honestly you are not good enough for the gaming world.
Cos the gaming world is quite a niche and small industry at the moment as compared to the rest.
So if you're not the best of the best, you won't even be able to apply at all. One of the major criteria for jobs in gaming industry is that you need to build up your own impressive PORTFOLIO first before you can even be considered for selection.
You only made one map and you're already so show-off about it, that's so typical Singaporean mentality. Maybe you really don't have any other achievements in your life and that's why you're constantly harping on your silly uploaded map on gamespot where every registered user can also upload on gamespot.
Other people only need to use a fraction of the time needed to create a game map as compared to you. If you're a bangalah worker, then 6hrs+ can buy you a cow back in bangalah land ok? And I will be sooo impressed and proud of you.
But since you're not a bangalah, wasting 6hrs+ of your time on a game map only tells your future employers how inefficient and unproductive you are as an employee. Do you think you deserved a pay rise for that? You'll probably be lucky to keep your job if your employers decides to tell you that you won't be getting any pay rise this year and you get to keep your job.
As a TS, you created this topic to ask for opinions, but when I give you my opinions, you think you know better.
If that's the case, then why don't you tell us what you really know?
Unless you created this topic because you think you know the most amongst the forumers here in sgforums and you think you would like to take this opportunity to boost your own inflated-ego and build up your confidence and show-off to everyone in here that you're planning to study in a "cool" diploma course?
That's really pathetic. ![]()
Originally posted by parn:
What makes you think you're good enough to earn yourself a career in the game industry?Please don't mention about your silly game maps which most kids around the world can also made them with the kindly provided map making tools in-game.
Looking at how show-off you are about your little puny silly map, I can tell you honestly you are not good enough for the gaming world.
Cos the gaming world is quite a niche and small industry at the moment as compared to the rest.
So if you're not the best of the best, you won't even be able to apply at all. One of the major criteria for jobs in gaming industry is that you need to build up your own impressive PORTFOLIO first before you can even be considered for selection.
You only made one map and you're already so show-off about it, that's so typical Singaporean mentality. Maybe you really don't have any other achievements in your life and that's why you're constantly harping on your silly uploaded map on gamespot where every registered user can also upload on gamespot.
Other people only need to use a fraction of the time needed to create a game map as compared to you. If you're a bangalah worker, then 6hrs+ can buy you a cow back in bangalah land ok? And I will be sooo impressed and proud of you.
But since you're not a bangalah, wasting 6hrs+ of your time on a game map only tells your future employers how inefficient and unproductive you are as an employee. Do you think you deserved a pay rise for that? You'll probably be lucky to keep your job if your employers decides to tell you that you won't be getting any pay rise this year and you get to keep your job.
As a TS, you created this topic to ask for opinions, but when I give you my opinions, you think you know better.
If that's the case, then why don't you tell us what you really know?
Unless you created this topic because you think you know the most amongst the forumers here in sgforums and you think you would like to take this opportunity to boost your own inflated-ego and build up your confidence and show-off to everyone in here that you're planning to study in a "cool" diploma course?
That's really pathetic.
For once, I actually agree. But I wouldn't have put it in such a 'subtle' way.
Originally posted by parn:
Your course does not only involves scripting for games, if it is...then you should pick another course as this is a useless course.Why don't you try to tell people in the gaming industry that you have scripted for like 6hrs+ for a silly map and uploaded it on gamespot?
You might get alot of blank stares followed by unlimited LOLs from them. If they kept quiet, it also doesn't means you're good...it just meant they are either trying to hold back their laughter or they think you're just another idiotic kid from Singapore.
Anybody also can upload their game maps on gamespot, so who are you trying to fool around here? And if you are not the only person in the world that can create game maps with the map making tools provided by the game. <--- Don't you know that? And if you do know it's nothing special, is there any cause for you to brag about it?
If you can't even handle animations or create them, then you certainly are not ready to be a game developer.
What do you think you're going to test your game on? Stick Man is it?
anyone can uplaod map on game spot? i didnt know that, i only uploaded it on forums , someone msut have uploaded it for me, the point is that how is scripting for so long related to lazy? and what im trying to say is atleast i know some basics, as some people that want to join the course,(course not career yet)- just play cs everyday.
i did some modeling and such, yea im interested in it but not as a carreer that make animation videos, not games. i thank u for ur comment but u just jump in to assumptions to quickly, i just made a small point that shows my passion for game industry, not to brag ,i agree the map isint very good nor popular i jsut want to say i enjoy scripting, see how much good comments i get after i say that, people understand whati m itnerested in. unlike u , being so unintelligent and jumping to conclusion like some dumb ass.
so shadez, u decide to advance ur career oversea? i dun really want to leave singapore, unless really there's no way to get this kind of job in singapore.
oh yea really short and tee? i mean cmon atleast jean la, who wear shorts to job like really pai seh leh.
and NYP very good too? how do u guys know about each course? experience? i'll consider sp and nyp then
Originally posted by Cybercrashx:
anyone can uplaod map on game spot? i didnt know that, i only uploaded it on forums , someone msut have uploaded it for me, the point is that how is scripting for so long related to lazy? and what im trying to say is atleast i know some basics, as some people that want to join the course,(course not carrier yet)- just play cs everyday.
i did some modeling and such, yea im interested in it but not as a carreer that make animation videos, not games. i thank u for ur comment but u just jump in to assumptions to quickly, i just made a small point that shows my passion for game industry, not to brag ,i agree the map isint very good nor popular.
Alright i work in the game industry so i'd give you some advice from my knowledge
Best of what i can understand from you, is that essentially you want to be a game designer. The job scope of a game designer basically means designing the world levels, quests and overall structure of the game.
Most local gaming schools here i think don't really give an actual practical education in terms of game designing. It's pretty much a global thing, since technology is moving faster than any schools could keep up.
Actually i would correct parn on her opinions. I have talked with my game designers colleague before on what is required of them when they go for an interview.
They recommended making mini quests using Free RPG makers, though i believe the Warcraft map creation engine works pretty well as well but how exactly do you submit what you've done i'm not sure. So designing maps is actually useful in this sense.
I can check with them and see if you like.
anyone can upload map on game spot? i didn't know that, i only uploaded it on forums , someone must have uploaded it for me, the point is that how is scripting for so long related to lazy? and what im trying to say is atleast i know some basics, as some people that want to join the course,(course not career yet)- just play cs everyday.btw i was googling my username for fun then i found out somehow my map appeared on gamespot that's why i was abit proud. i didnt even know it was free for all to upload. if some big company take ur stuff and promote to the public and u feel nothing u must really be some no life emo
i did some modeling and such, yea im interested in it but not as a carreer that make animation videos, not games.
i thank u for ur comment but u just jump in to assumptions to quickly, i just made a small point that shows my passion for game industry, not to brag ,i agree the map isn't very good nor popular i jsut want to say i enjoy scripting, see how much relevent comments i get after i say that, people understand what im interested in to make suitable comments,not like the previous thread that tell the thread starter that gmae developing is about doign and scirpting whoel day which i enjoy. unlike u , being so unintelligent and jumping to conclusion like some dumb ass.
so shadez, u decide to advance ur career oversea? i dun really want to leave Singapore, unless really there's no way to get this kind of job in Singapore.
oh yea really short and tee? i mean cmon atleast jean la, who wear shorts to job like really pai seh leh.
and NYP very good too? how do u guys know about each course? experience? i'll consider sp and nyp then, i see their web page very hard to decide, of coz both say they specialize very well etc.. i jsut saw that sp need less point and it's course name is relevent i thought it was better. well atleast now i got 2 course choices, not so limited.
hamu- yea im interested in game map and game programing, im just or interested in the art & design section, im not really art talented
so shadez, u decide to advance ur career oversea? i dun really want to leave singapore, unless really there's no way to get this kind of job in singapore.
and NYP very good too? how do u guys know about each course? experience? i'll consider sp and nyp then
Yes, i fully intend to be international in the future. Why stay in Singapore when you can explore the world during your youth?
I know NYP's game design course is good as i was from there. You will practice level design i can assure you, during one of the modules, our assignment was to create a multiplayer game map using the Quake 3 editor. The module is actually called: "Games Level Design".
Trust me, apply for NYP. You will enjoy yourself from what i'm hearing of you. If you like the designing/artistic side, go to "Digital Media Design". If you like doing hard coding & technical stuff, go to "Digital Entertainment Technology". You will do cool stuff during your 3rd year like motion capturing & character modeling. If you love games, you will surely enjoy your 3 years in poly.
aiya parn, must encourage them mah... dun so negative :) look at DotA.. it's only 1 map, but it's very famous right :D
it's ok that cybercrashx is not interested in the art side of gaming (animation, 3d)... if he wants to do design work / programming, he will never have to touch art side. ( in a relatively big company la... )
EDB has something called STRAT, i think.. successful applicants get to be attached to famous overseas studios to work as interns. it's good for exp and getting a foot into these big international studios. ( it's usually advertised in the papers )
i only know NYP good coz i have some friends who are from there. im from lasalle like shadez here :D NYP courses actually sound like they are relevant la...
kino also has some game design books, u can buy n read up on ur own.
for the course in sp, DGDD
other than programming there are other things as well
there will be drawing, learning how to draw and everyweek u got to hand in an assignment for drawing.under the module GDDS1
there will also be a maya class for 3d animation.under module GDDS1
thn there will be games design and principles which teaches u about game mechanics and things about games which is rather useless IMO. THE module GDP
there is also an acting in animation class, where u learn acting for animation purposes. this one is under the module GDDS1
there is also scriptwriting for first years where u have to write a 30 pages script based on ur own idea. under the module SGD
Thn there is also Flash for year 1 which is immensely boring, the teacher for flash is quite lousy. the module is 2DGD
Thn there is History of Ideas (HTI) which teaches quite a lot of things like character archetypes, philosophy, arts Etc Etc. and u will have to hand in a journal regarding the topics taught every semester in addition to other projects given to u in the module.
lastly, there is 2d game tools, where they teach u how to use photoshop and adobe illustrator.quite boring, all u have to do is buy the txtbook and use it, the teacher is rather useless.
IF u do not like drawing, it is better for u not to join this course as there will be a lot of drawing involve.
Secondly, there will be a lot of projects to hand in.
These are the modules for Year 1-Sem 1, year 1-sem 2 onwards i do not know them that well since i withdrew from the course before sem 2 started.
and also the workload for this course is i would say as much as or more than jc workload because of all the projects and homework. and i know quite a few ppl who joined the course only to find it not to their liking.Furthermore, the teachers are not that good except for the one teaching HTI.
AND aside from these modules, there will be 2 additional modules not related to the course like Critical Reasoning Skills, IDEAS etc etc. for the 1st semester and u will be having General Elective Modules for the 2nd semester.
IT is also not easy to score well in this course cause it is subjective. and by taking this course, u will limit the amount of courses u can take in public uni. i believe that there are only 2 courses open to DGDD students in Uni, and furthermore the course in uni is not directly related to what u have studied since there is no game design course in uni.
Think carefully before making ur decision.
oh yea and i forgot to mention that u nid a lot of creativity for this course cause u nid to come up with ur own game in the first year already.First year doing boardgame btw.
if u cannot come up with an interesting and creative and fun game, you will lose out. and by the way, there are quite a lot of talented and creative people taking the course too.
and furthermore u got to be creative in ur scripting and in other projects as well as DGDD is not all about scripting.
if u are not creative and hardworking u will lose out in the industry. by hardworking, be prepared to work 13 hrs a day for ur project in year 3, since year 1 is nothing compared to year 3 and in year 1 u already get bombarded by projects. when u go out to work in the gaming industry, u shld also be prepared to work 13 hours a day.
to sum it up when u work, u work for long hours and for low pay. unless u make it big in the industry or talented enough to get into a major company for games, however at the start u will be working long hours for low pay and it is very difficult to make it big in the industry as its not just about hardwork, u nid alot of creativity too.
so think carefully about the decision.
Originally posted by Hohole:for the course in sp, DGDD
there will be drawing, learning how to draw and everyweek u got to hand in an assignment for drawing.under the module GDDS1
thn there will be games design and principles which teaches u about game mechanics and things about games which is rather useless IMO. THE module GDP
there is also an acting in animation class, where u learn acting for animation purposes. this one is under the module GDDS1
there is also scriptwriting for first years where u have to write a 30 pages script based on ur own idea. under the module SGD
Thn there is also Flash for year 1 which is immensely boring, the teacher for flash is quite lousy. the module is 2DGD
Thn there is History of Ideas (HTI) which teaches quite a lot of things like character archetypes, philosophy, arts Etc Etc. and u will have to hand in a journal regarding the topics taught every semester in addition to other projects given to u in the module.
lastly, there is 2d game tools, where they teach u how to use photoshop and adobe illustrator.quite boring, all u have to do is buy the txtbook and use it, the teacher is rather useless.
IF u do not like drawing, it is better for u not to join this course as there will be a lot of drawing involve.
These are the modules for Year 1-Sem 1, year 1-sem 2 onwards i do not know them that well since i withdrew from the course before sem 2 started.
and also the workload for this course is i would say as much as or more than jc workload because of all the projects and homework. and i know quite a few ppl who joined the course only to find it not to their liking.Furthermore, the teachers are not that good except for the one teaching HTI.
AND aside from these modules, there will be 2 additional modules not related to the course like Critical Reasoning Skills, IDEAS etc etc. for the 1st semester and u will be having General Elective Modules for the 2nd semester.
IT is also not easy to score well in this course cause it is subjective. and by taking this course, u will limit the amount of courses u can take in public uni. i believe that there are only 2 courses open to DGDD students in Uni, and furthermore the course in uni is not directly related to what u have studied since there is no game design course in uni.
The Flash lecturer is Melvin Tan ? Looolz.
Anyways , TS , do what your interest takes you to. If you're really interested in making successful games , you gotta try and be the best. Parn's right. Singapore companies hasn't produce any good games atm. Mostly the ideas and stuff like that is imported from USA , Japan , Korean , etc.
Then if you really wanna make a successful one , i can tell you it's gonna be hard work. I am already struggling with mere mobile applications in IT, you can imagine what's gonna take you if you're developing a game project.
+1 to Hohole.
Originally posted by hamu:aiya parn, must encourage them mah... dun so negative :) look at DotA.. it's only 1 map, but it's very famous right :D
it's ok that cybercrashx is not interested in the art side of gaming (animation, 3d)... if he wants to do design work / programming, he will never have to touch art side. ( in a relatively big company la... )
EDB has something called STRAT, i think.. successful applicants get to be attached to famous overseas studios to work as interns. it's good for exp and getting a foot into these big international studios. ( it's usually advertised in the papers )
i only know NYP good coz i have some friends who are from there. im from lasalle like shadez here :D NYP courses actually sound like they are relevant la...
It's not that I don't want to encourage TS to go for it, but unlike other career choice, but to blindly encouraged TS to jump into the gaming industry without possessing the right kind of mentality would be causing TS more harm than good in his future career...even though it's not like he really cares what I advised him anyway. As long as I'm not typing things that he wants to read, he would be upset...and so I don't even bother to respond to his idiotic post.
Like I have mentioned before, gaming industry is quite a niche industry to penetrate into if he is not good enough or committed to this as his career.
So far, TS have not displayed any form of commitments towards his career in the gaming industry. He probably have a very naive view of it and maybe nobody here really knows enough to advise him of the kind of work and time that this kind of career expects out of him.
I don't think anyone really knows what kind of job TS would like to work as for his future career. And I think TS himself also have no idea what kind of job he would like to work as for his future career and the job scope.
It may be a fun thing for TS to do right now and enjoy his diploma course for what is worth. But if TS is unwilling or he has NO MONEY to further his interest in the gaming industry or he does not have a future plan and prepared to make any sacrifice and commitments for saving up enough money to further his education overseas, then TS must be prepared to have another backup path for his career.
Unfortunately, like I have mentioned many times, gaming industry is a niche market and no matter how "cool" it is going to sound, there's nothing to be cool about if you don't have any backup plan and ended up jobless in a dying career in Singapore in the future.
Of course we can always advise and encourage any tom, dick or harry that comes hopping onto the sgforums to pick on our brains or look for trouble or ashamed to use their main nick to ask for help in times of trouble. But if I were to advise or encourage anyone, I'll first want to assess the person before I give out the wrong advice or maybe the person really don't deserves any advice from me at all, then I'll let it pass and maybe I think the person already had enough good advices, then I'll also skip and go to read another thread.
Every advice counts and of course every single drop of flames also matters. ![]()
Originally posted by Stevenson101:
Alright i work in the game industry so i'd give you some advice from my knowledgeBest of what i can understand from you, is that essentially you want to be a game designer. The job scope of a game designer basically means designing the world levels, quests and overall structure of the game.
Most local gaming schools here i think don't really give an actual practical education in terms of game designing. It's pretty much a global thing, since technology is moving faster than any schools could keep up.
Actually i would correct parn on her opinions. I have talked with my game designers colleague before on what is required of them when they go for an interview.
They recommended making mini quests using Free RPG makers, though i believe the Warcraft map creation engine works pretty well as well but how exactly do you submit what you've done i'm not sure. So designing maps is actually useful in this sense.
I can check with them and see if you like.
ty for ur insights
btw my map was a tower defense game, that's why it require so much scripts.
cool, but im more into game developing, not map design, btw what i design wasn't exactly a map, it was a tower defense game lol, there's only 2 made for the game coz it require massive scripting lol. so im not very into level design but more on the concept like how enemy comes in, where are the mountains but not the geography of the land etc...
and i mean securing the entry to the course with port folio, not career yet. coz im afriad i might not get enough points. just in case.
oh and if u make an rpg with some client wont it be unpopular? i mean is there a rpg maker for flash instead? which then i can upload the game to like newground etc and it get rated and comments. so it it get good rating and amount of plays, it's obvious that it is good and easier to show whoever too.
Originally posted by Hohole:for the course in sp, DGDD
then sound like NYP is better? or are they alike? and why would ideation require fking 30 page? i would enter journalist if i want to be some story writer.
Originally posted by shadez:Yes, i fully intend to be international in the future. Why stay in Singapore when you can explore the world during your youth?
I know NYP's game design course is good as i was from there. You will practice level design i can assure you, during one of the modules, our assignment was to create a multiplayer game map using the Quake 3 editor. The module is actually called: "Games Level Design".
Trust me, apply for NYP. You will enjoy yourself from what i'm hearing of you. If you like the designing/artistic side, go to "Digital Media Design". If you like doing hard coding & technical stuff, go to "Digital Entertainment Technology". You will do cool stuff during your 3rd year like motion capturing & character modeling. If you love games, you will surely enjoy your 3 years in poly.
yea ty for ur advice, i would most probably choose NYP digital entertainment tech from u guys opinion , and i'll do soem research after O level.
Originally posted by hamu:aiya parn, must encourage them mah... dun so negative :) look at DotA.. it's only 1 map, but it's very famous right :D
haha ya i agree, i'll look up kino next time.and from u guys nyp sound dam good la, i think i may go there. but what about sp one? does NYP>SP in this course?
Originally posted by ceecookie:Singapore's gaming industry is crap. Be prepared to (spend money) and work in the United States if you want a successful career.Those high paying one includes Bungie Studios, Valve etc etc which is the world's known companies.
Common posts here are low paid GM/mods etc in online MMORGS, with no career.
but what about EA? they have a HQ and a studio here, if i get in i dun have to move out. but i dun know if ea is good etc.. or i might even get in.i belive there is stillcareer here, just very limited. =(
if u like, just go for it
u can earn money with anything
it only takes creativity
dunnid to think simi cannot earn enough in future or what
Hi TS,
Go for NYP if you are really interested in gaming development. However, be prepared that it's not going to be easy. My specialization was Digital Entertainment last time (not that I'm good at it), and there was intensive hardcore programming to be done. A simple mini game already requires alot of codings. It's very taxing but if u really don't mind doing C++ programming (which is kinda difficult), then go for it.
My lecturer once told me that even though gaming industry is not popular yet, but if u are really good and interested in what u are doing, u will excel in that industry and there will be good prospects.
Originally posted by gigabyte14:if u like, just go for it
u can earn money with anything
it only takes creativity
dunnid to think simi cannot earn enough in future or what
but there's also a important note ppl give, this is rare but sound more realistic, is that u cant always do what u like to do, later future jia lat... bah not that i take that in, but i really need to think about my future, it's my life! lols
Originally posted by Miss Tiny:Hi TS,
Go for NYP if you are really interested in gaming development. However, be prepared that it's not going to be easy. My specialization was Digital Entertainment last time (not that I'm good at it), and there was intensive hardcore programming to be done. A simple mini game already requires alot of codings. It's very taxing but if u really don't mind doing C++ programming (which is kinda difficult), then go for it.
My lecturer once told me that even though gaming industry is not popular yet, but if u are really good and interested in what u are doing, u will excel in that industry and there will be good prospects.
I'll try some c++ after my o, by using online guides, i think i wont mind doing that considering i also dun mind scripting . in game making/watever making, it's the fruit of your labor that pay off right? it's very delighting to see the results like a game or something u was making whole day/month/etc... that's why i dun mind =D
if somehow all else fail i might decide business courses.. which i only have less then half passion in it, but i doubt it would happen..
thanks for all you guys insights, it help me clear alot of matters i think i most probably will aim for NYP digital entertainment tech- due to u guys overwhelming insights on how great it was, but is there anyway i could somehow check out to see which poly game developing course is better? their website description will of coz always write about the same thing, they are super pro course lol..
Originally posted by Cybercrashx:I'll try some c++ after my o, by using online guides, i think i wont mind doing that considering i also dun mind scripting . in game making/watever making, it's the fruit of your labor that pay off right? it's very delighting to see the results like a game or something u was making whole day/month/etc... that's why i dun mind =D
if somehow all else fail i might decide business courses.. which i only have less then half passion in it, but i doubt it would happen..
thanks for all you guys insights, it help me clear alot of matters i think i most probably will aim for NYP digital entertainment tech- due to u guys overwhelming insights on how great it was, but is there anyway i could somehow check out to see which poly game developing course is better? their website description will of coz always write about the same thing, they are super pro course lol..
U should have gone for poly open houses to know more about the courses, rather than online whereby information is not very sufficient. They can explain to u what u will learn, what are the possible future jobs if u take the course blah blah... Anyway, there's always next year's open house since u haven't take ur O levels right.
yea true ty, i'll attend most open house next year, especially nyp and sp
Originally posted by Cybercrashx:but there's also a important note ppl give, this is rare but sound more realistic, is that u cant always do what u like to do, later future jia lat... bah not that i take that in, but i really need to think about my future, it's my life! lols
if u want a degree later in ur life, any diploma will do
they see GPA only