who in SGF sarppork ?
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:
no problem ![]()
passing it on ![]()
Bump to a green thread .
Wads this?
+1 for me. I support this! Saw this on national geographic channel!
Originally posted by Only-Way-4-Destiny!:+1 for me. I support this! Saw this on national geographic channel!
Great !
I dunno what to do for that one hour. Maybe sit at void deck?
lj la. off 1 hour.
then on extra 1 hour later on. got si mi use?
not that i'm not supportive. but whats the point? knn occupants so bo chup, need to come up with these to save.
I got mixed feeling about this.. 1 hour seems quite redundant, however it does raise awareness of green activism in people (sort of... or does it really?)
y muz on xtra 1 hr leh?
bt nt oly s'pore off 1 hr leh.
it's the whole world off 1 hr leh.
Originally posted by dAiyAm0nd0:I got mixed feeling about this.. 1 hour seems quite redundant, however it does raise awareness of green activism in people (sort of... or does it really?)
with so much empahsis on it. especially with companies attempting to hijack on this concept to promote products. i think more or less those living in populated cities will know. anyway those rural peeps aren't polluting as much as city dwellers.
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:y muz on xtra 1 hr leh?
bt nt oly s'pore off 1 hr leh.
it's the whole world off 1 hr leh.
28 march 2009 at 2030, you join earth hour and turn off everything for 1 hour.
if you intented to work on something and because of it, work is being halted. to make up, you stay up later to work on it or do what you wanted to do.
juz do it in the day lah. ![]()
Originally posted by alwaysdisturbed:lj la. off 1 hour.
then on extra 1 hour later on. got si mi use?
not that i'm not supportive. but whats the point? knn occupants so bo chup, need to come up with these to save.
then dont on extra 1 hour ![]()
talk is cheap.
Originally posted by alwaysdisturbed:talk is cheap.
i prove that i participate by action ![]()
Originally posted by 93'guy:i prove that i participate by action
c'mon la. we all know this 1 hour will not do much of any impact.
I beg to differ!
According to WWF Thailand, Bangkok decreased electricity usage by 73.34 megawatts, which, over one hour, is equivalent to 41.6 tonnes of carbon dioxide.
In Dubai, where external lighting on several major city landmarks was turned off and street lighting in selected areas was dimmed by 50%, the Electricity and Water Authority reported savings of 100 megawatt-hours of electricity. This represented a 2.4% reduction in demand compared to before the hour began.
The best result was from Christchurch, New Zealand. The city reported a drop of 13% in electricity demand.
Melbourne, Australia saved 10.1% of electricity. Sydney, being the city that participated both 2007 and 2008 Earth Hour, cut 8.4% electricity consumption.
lim pei sarpork...
Originally posted by Music-Life:I beg to differ!
According to WWF Thailand, Bangkok decreased electricity usage by 73.34 megawatts, which, over one hour, is equivalent to 41.6 tonnes of carbon dioxide.
In Dubai, where external lighting on several major city landmarks was turned off and street lighting in selected areas was dimmed by 50%, the Electricity and Water Authority reported savings of 100 megawatt-hours of electricity. This represented a 2.4% reduction in demand compared to before the hour began.
The best result was from Christchurch, New Zealand. The city reported a drop of 13% in electricity demand.
Melbourne, Australia saved 10.1% of electricity. Sydney, being the city that participated both 2007 and 2008 Earth Hour, cut 8.4% electricity consumption.
they saved that much for the hour. but the amount saved compared to the usage over a longer period of time is insignificant.
u're not gettin the idea.
dis isnt an one-off ting.
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:u're not gettin the idea.
Yeah ![]()
Originally posted by hisoka:they saved that much for the hour. but the amount saved compared to the usage over a longer period of time is insignificant.
exactly.
Originally posted by Hello Kitty:u're not gettin the idea.
then how often? yearly? only when its weekly or even fortnightly, then i will feel the meaningfulness in it.