Originally posted by Fantagf:The foreign trash from China are the favoured ones from LKY thus the leniency towards them. I absolutely agree with you that we have no problem communicating with the other foreigners from other countries who work here.
Anyway, these foreign trash from PRC - some have attitude problem like expecting the locals to understand what they speak.
As a chinese I am a little lenient to them to communicate to them in Mandarin, but even then I do get stuff which I don't ask for. May be basically, they do have interpretation problem other than not able to communicate in English.
Once we point our finger at Mr Lee, he will point it back at us again.
The reason given by the government on why they are lowering the standards for people intending to be PR working here is that our population is decreasing at an alarming rate, hence more people need to be "imported in".
And who do the government blame for the population decrease? The people. For those who did not read up about it, the government is blaming the people for not making enough babies to sustain the population.
Originally posted by angel7030:get bilingual, learn Mandarin!! You may laugh at them, when China come up, they will be laughing at you.
So you are also saying that if one day India come up, we should go learn indian languages too?
Singapore is getting Chinaish... ...
Originally posted by Forbiddensinner:Once we point our finger at Mr Lee, he will point it back at us again.
The reason given by the government on why they are lowering the standards for people intending to be PR working here is that our population is decreasing at an alarming rate, hence more people need to be "imported in".
And who do the government blame for the population decrease? The people. For those who did not read up about it, the government is blaming the people for not making enough babies to sustain the population.
It's because their stop-at-2 policy backfired.
Originally posted by angel7030:get bilingual, learn Mandarin!! You may laugh at them, when China come up, they will be laughing at you.
Oi this singapore muti-racial and This not china leh...Y must we learn speak mandarin when they are in our country , r u a PRC lover? they are disrespecting our country.
We will speak chinese if we are in their country not singapore
Originally posted by Forbiddensinner:Once we point our finger at Mr Lee, he will point it back at us again.
In the end he is the only one who gain the most
Originally posted by cyberr1981:for bills, I draw a square with my 2 index fingers and it is understood by most waiters/waitresses.
Originally posted by haha879:
Oi this singapore muti-racial and This not china leh...Y must we learn speak mandarin when they are in our country , r u a PRC lover? they are disrespecting our country.We will speak chinese if we are in their country not singapore
not that you should speak chinese, to learn a language is a blessing. And right here, you got the best chance of learning it. Yes, we dun have to speak chinese, but we can teach other to speak english too, helping others is like helping ourselves.
If an Indian or Chinese young gal dunno much about english, we can laugh at them, but they are also learning, and they take the hard knock of being laugh at to learn. As customers, you are always right, but that does mean you have to right to critise and challenge a service provider characters. So, be abit kind hearted, instead of critising and jealous of their present, teach them, be good and you will be surprise to see how good people treat and remember you.
Making friend is better than making foe.
Originally posted by tranquilice:
So you are also saying that if one day India come up, we should go learn indian languages too?
Why not?? if you can learn Hindi, that will be a plus plus in doing business with them, relationship is very important ok, look at the western, korean and japanese peoples in our local TV shows, they are learning chinese too.
One of the top job in world tourism today is to have a good chinese and Hindi speaking tour guides, they are making big money. The world nos 1 and 2 most populate countries are getting richer, the peoples travel and touring is a major market, billionaires are waiting to be guided
Originally posted by ~N3RD~:damn nabeh la to communicate with them (prc)
got one time I went to buy laksa... I told the prc auntie "laksa yi wan, mai hum"... She never even clarify with me she added more hum...
another one is mcdonalds, asked for mayo, give butter, asked for chilli, give tomato, ask for asked for curry, give tartar... so random...
Even worse is when SBS also employs PRC. That time saw this ang moh boarded the bus and asked the driver whether the bus is going to Tampines bus terminal, then the prc fellow talked to him in chinese saying he don't know what he was talking about and even told him "America good good" Think the prc thought the ang moh was greeting him... wtf...
You can wtf and laugh at them, but like it or not, they are here to stay. Sooner or later, you will get use to it. It either you teach them or you join them.
Originally posted by angel7030:You can wtf and laugh at them, but like it or not, they are here to stay. Sooner or later, you will get use to it. It either you teach them or you join them.
Hope they pick up Singlish, soon.
I look down on young Chinese Singaporeans who can't speak Chinese. They should re-take their CL2 before they can complain about PRC workers.
To their credit, I feel having PRCs amongst us may help our Chinese proficiency. Having more Caucasians may also do the same for our English. For all we know, this could be the beginning of another evolution in our spoken languages.
Just a thought.
Originally posted by angel7030:You can wtf and laugh at them, but like it or not, they are here to stay. Sooner or later, you will get use to it. It either you teach them or you join them.
I mean they must respect the non chinese speaking people like malay and indian ma...Singapore not only have chinese leh.. but they dont bother to learn
hey ...reallie kns la ...
they reallie think they big loh..
Always want to ask them something then after that they reply,"Can you speak Chinese pls ?"
duhh....buay tahan arh..
Originally posted by ArVan:To their credit, I feel having PRCs amongst us may help our Chinese proficiency. Having more Caucasians may also do the same for our English. For all we know, this could be the beginning of another evolution in our spoken languages.
Just a thought.
No more singlish.
Chinglish soon.
And then the government will have to come up with another "Speak Good English/Mandarin" campaign. ![]()
Originally posted by charlize:
Nah, it'll be Singlish no matter what. Chinglish would be "China/ English". I bet our language will be even more colorful with these foreigners contributing to our mix of language .
sometimes when i hear those chinnas speaking so loudly in the train ..i thought of asking them to shut up...haha..
Speak so loud like @ their hometown like that....!!!hmmppphhh...!!!~~
Don't like China people from China...they really...sucks arh..
Originally posted by karinatong:sometimes when i hear those chinnas speaking so loudly in the train ..i thought of asking them to shut up...haha..
lol i also seen one china men shout at top of his voice while taking on the phone and there was once when i go macdonald i speak english then the cina guy face not happy
Originally posted by karinatong:sometimes when i hear those chinnas speaking so loudly in the train ..i thought of asking them to shut up...haha..
Same sentiment.
Yea... really irritating...
Originally posted by haha879:lol i also seen one china men shout at top of his voice while taking on the phone and there was once when i go macdonald i speak english then the cina guy face not happy
haha and karinatong
mediacorpse showing the programme on ugly singaporeans, to be fair they should show the ugliness of the PRCs.
Govt and media magnify the ugly Singaporeans but never point fingers and magnify the ugliness of PRCs.
THOSE PRC GALS WHO CAME HERE TO STUDY ENGLISH ARE ACTUALLY PROS LOR !!
Originally posted by Fantagf:
haha and karinatongmediacorpse showing the programme on ugly singaporeans, to be fair they should show the ugliness of the PRCs.
Govt and media magnify the ugly Singaporeans but never point fingers and magnify the ugliness of PRCs.
Ya whats with that programme its really an insult to singaporeans , no goverment should made fun of their own people....
Just hope the PRCs foreign talent trend will stop soon....