Originally posted by Rednano:
then jobs for O Level people are always limited than for Diploma and Degree...if not, why so many people go ask government for help and ask to upgrade their skills at www.wda.gov.sg and www.e2i.com.sg?
Going to WDA to upgrade their skills is different from getting a degree.
WDA courses are all heavily subsided and their degree courses definetly won't take 3 years to complete and definetly cost less than 30k which NUS, NTU and SMU charges.
I have plans to take a subsidised degree programme from WDA but definetly not from NUS, NTU or SMU which is too expensive and time consuming.
Originally posted by Googooboyy:Wow, I'm just surprised at the acidic response that TS is getting, if anything, perhaps the flame-throwers should be getting an education in dignified forum reply techniques, because those replies are acidic, and aimed at infuriating TS, which has proved to be ineffective.
And TS, I think instead of replying with a name-calling post, like 'small boy', I think it's best to ignore them. They're just pulling you into their 'level', whatever level it is. Ignorance is bliss, right?
- - - - - - -
Now, back to a proper discussion. Ty.
Please dun tell me u created an account just to say this.
Government statistics prove everything. If the government publicises a report saying "O" Level grad earn more in the workplace compared to the dip/deg/PhD holders, then it must be true then. There is a difference between just pure talk and talk cock.
I guess automator has no questions about my calculations on the first page
hmmm....
Hi TS
What you said is very true. I agree with you whole 101%. The 5 mins browsing through your posts had enlightened me, much more than the many years spent studying. You have made your point.
My friend only Primary 8 education (The old system, where there are primary 7 and primary 8). He's now 34, driving a merc, owns 2 zi-char store, and submitted income tax of about $11K per month. Just how many people who studies deg, etc earns that kid of monies at 34? However he is stupid now, pushing his two kids to tuition after school, wanting them to proceed to university and even higher if possible. I think cooking too much sambal fried rice had fried his brain.
You are right TS, my friend. We should not study. Those who are in JC, poly, ITE, uni, please quit. You're wasting time studying and incurring debt losing the opportunity cost to O level graduates.
=)
Originally posted by automator:Going to WDA to upgrade their skills is different from getting a degree.
WDA courses are all heavily subsided and their degree courses definetly won't take 3 years to complete and definetly cost less than 30k which NUS, NTU and SMU charges.
I have plans to take a subsidised degree programme from WDA but definetly not from NUS, NTU or SMU which is too expensive and time consuming.
Weren't you talking about just O level grads a while ago? If u go to WDA wouldn't you get more experience in that field and earn more money?
Both are still COURSES and that takes time. Companies acknowledge that a staff has done the course. Naturally the raise comes as well.
I seriously don't get what u are driving at.
Originally posted by seyKai:knowledge is power
And continuous education is the key. Hehe.
- - - - -
Okay lah, it all depends on which industry you want to excel in. Certain industry you can succeed career-wise without a diploma/degree, while some requires that niche knowledge you gain from a University laden background.
Btw, please continue studying kids, but if opportunity jumps at you, grab them!! Don't ever stop educating yourselves, which this thread title might be 'mislead' or 'misconstrued' to believe against, but if you're like me, do grasp with an open mind (whereby there's no right or wrong answer..) the rationale of TS's idea, and probably then you'll 'see' the lighter side of the equation.
Originally posted by Fryderyk HPH:Please dun tell me u created an account just to say this.
Government statistics prove everything. If the government publicises a report saying "O" Level grad earn more in the workplace compared to the dip/deg/PhD holders, then it must be true then. There is a difference between just pure talk and talk cock.
i think so too, look at his first post was made at the time of this thread war and the first post was immediately mounting a generated response against the "attackers" lol
I said it once and I'll say it again.
Let's face it. TS is probably stuck with a o levels qualifications and trying to make himself feel better.
Originally posted by Googooboyy:And continuous education is the key. Hehe.
- - - - -Okay lah, it all depends on which industry you want to excel in. Certain industry you can succeed career-wise without a diploma/degree, while some requires that niche knowledge you gain from a University laden background.
Btw, please continue studying kids, but if opportunity jumps at you, grab them!! Don't ever stop educating yourselves, which this thread title might be 'mislead' or 'misconstrued' to believe against, but if you're like me, do grasp with an open mind (whereby there's no right or wrong answer..) the rationale of TS's idea, and probably then you'll 'see' the lighter side of the equation.
Studying never ends till the day a person dies.
The thing is, I don't get what TS is driving at, first he talks about O level and now some course from WDA???
Originally posted by automator:Than apply for jobs that you are qualified for with your diploma and experience lor
If you have a diploma and 10 years experience as a manager than you should apply for a manager position.
If you go and apply for a director position which needs a degree and 5 years experience as a manger, you can't tell them that although you got no degree but you got an extra 5 years experience as a manger so you want to apply for it
Dude, the job scope not the position. Getting a job of what u want to do.
Originally posted by Agenda:I said it once and I'll say it again.
Let's face it. TS is probably stuck with a o levels qualifications and trying to make himself feel better.
Agreed.
If the TS want to believe that having a O level cert is better than others, den do so. Do not influence others and impose ur views on others like how the title is named "Why you should not study".
This is like telling everyone he/she shoud not study. If so, can't I make a statement, "Why we should all study for life"???
Originally posted by airgrinder:Hi TS
What you said is very true. I agree with you whole 101%. The 5 mins browsing through your posts had enlightened me, much more than the many years spent studying. You have made your point.
My friend only Primary 8 education (The old system, where there are primary 7 and primary 8). He's now 34, driving a merc, owns 2 zi-char store, and submitted income tax of about $11K per month. Just how many people who studies deg, etc earns that kid of monies at 34? However he is stupid now, pushing his two kids to tuition after school, wanting them to proceed to university and even higher if possible. I think cooking too much sambal fried rice had fried his brain.
You are right TS, my friend. We should not study. Those who are in JC, poly, ITE, uni, please quit. You're wasting time studying and incurring debt losing the opportunity cost to O level graduates.
=)
Moral of the story: You have to be good in whatever you do :)
Last time when I'm in Pri sch, I saw this chicken rice stall near my house... earn damn a lot...... The owner wear normal pants and shirt that is oily, but he drives a merc...
I heard later he went to do some other business, and sold the chicken rice business to one of his employee.... Months later, I see this employee turned boss driving another merc...
btw, cook chicken rice don't even need O level cert leh
lol i think we should stop shaking him out of reality, let reality nails him in his thick skull, but TS please never ever be a parent or your gonna add one more social problem to us
I just dun see what paperwork can be generated from O level that could be used in the workplace presently. All is now complex calculations of some sort and companies want to employ the best talent. So if you are not the better ones, wouldn't you lose out in your employability?
Originally posted by Googooboyy:And continuous education is the key. Hehe.
- - - - -Okay lah, it all depends on which industry you want to excel in. Certain industry you can succeed career-wise without a diploma/degree, while some requires that niche knowledge you gain from a University laden background.
Hi Googooboyy, welcome!
Your last paragraph is exactly the crux of what's on most people's mind at the moment... Whether such thinking will result in kids not wanting to study...
Everyone should know that to do well in life, you have to be in at least the top 10% of whatever you do... So even if you are without any cert, you can still go out an open a metal workshop, and be among the top 10% workshops, you will earn substantially.
But for everyone that succeed, there are at least 9 others that failed.
Originally posted by eagle:Moral of the story: You have to be good in whatever you do :)
Last time when I'm in Pri sch, I saw this chicken rice stall near my house... earn damn a lot...... The owner wear normal pants and shirt that is oily, but he drives a merc...
I heard later he went to do some other business, and sold the chicken rice business to one of his employee.... Months later, I see this employee turned boss driving another merc...
btw, cook chicken rice don't even need O level cert leh
what you say is true lah, but for the amount of effort put in by that chicken rice vendor could have earned much much more for say a Uni grad who put in the same level of effort
Originally posted by eagle:But for everyone that succeed, there are at least 9 others that failed.
The odds are one in ten. TS must noe that to be good, you must be great.
Originally posted by Fryderyk HPH:Weren't you talking about just O level grads a while ago? If u go to WDA wouldn't you get more experience in that field and earn more money?
Both are still COURSES and that takes time. Companies acknowledge that a staff has done the course. Naturally the raise comes as well.
I seriously don't get what u are driving at.
I compared O level with polytechnic and university graduates.
Did I compare O level with WDA courses?
Originally posted by automator:I compared O level with polytechnic and university graduates.
Nope. But u mentioned it which has no relevance directly to the thing about "O" level. So what exactly are you driving at anyway???
And, again, where is the statistic on O level grads wif poly and uni grads?
Originally posted by eagle:Hi Googooboyy, welcome!
Your last paragraph is exactly the crux of what's on most people's mind at the moment... Whether such thinking will result in kids not wanting to study...
Everyone should know that to do well in life, you have to be in at least the top 10% of whatever you do... So even if you are without any cert, you can still go out an open a metal workshop, and be among the top 10% workshops, you will earn substantially.
But for everyone that succeed, there are at least 9 others that failed.
If you think you belong to that 9 people that failed than you will definetly belong to that category because you are what you think you are
Originally posted by Nihon natsu2005:
what you say is true lah, but for the amount of effort put in by that chicken rice vendor could have earned much much more for say a Uni grad who put in the same level of effort
Not really... it will depends on how he run his business... Whether he leveraged upon the time of his employees...
E.g. Loy Kee Chicken Rice... There are so many branches, but the owner does not go to every branch :)
Another e.g. BreadTalk... They franchise their recipe to the Middle East, and opened branches in China as well... The owner do not need to be everywhere
:)
A uni degree is merely good as a headstart, as a stepping stone, and as a last resort to fall on.... or perhaps... for an easy way of surviving comfortably in life as an employee.... No worries of getting unemployed when you are in need of money, for most govt jobs would take you in if you have a good degree.
Originally posted by automator:If you think you belong to that 9 people that failed than you will definetly belong to that category because you are what you think you are
See that?
U are the one who is descending into personal attacks and insults.
Originally posted by Fryderyk HPH:Nope. But u mentioned it which has no relevance directly to the thing about "O" level. So what exactly are you driving at anyway???
And, again, where is the statistic on O level grads wif poly and uni grads?
I say it is not worth it for you to take a degree from local university as it takes 5 years from JC to university and you lose 5 years of income during these period and you spend alot of money.
But if you take WDA degree, it is around 2 years time which is very short and cheap too so is a different scenario all together
Originally posted by automator:I compared O level with polytechnic and university graduates.
LOL you compared O level with University graduates.
YOU ARE A RETARD.
Originally posted by Fryderyk HPH:See that?
U are the one who is descending into personal attacks and insults.
This is not a personal attack.
If you think you are a beggar and you behave like a beggar you will really become a beggar.
Even if you become a king you will still behave like a beggar because that is what you think you are.
This is the facts and reality of life