Originally posted by Nihon natsu2005:
LOL you compared O level with University graduates.
YOU ARE A RETARD.
Your posts shows you are a childish retarded person from woodbridge hospital
Originally posted by automator:If you think you belong to that 9 people that failed than you will definetly belong to that category because you are what you think you are
Look back to the first page where I shared with you about myself.
You mentioned in your calculations that about 5 years is needed before an O level grad managed to reach 96 k in earnings, not savings.
I took about 1 year after graduation to achieve it in savings, and going to be age 26 soon (after 2 yrs NS).
It's about the rate, not about the total amount by your age. Give 1 or 2 more years, I will easily overtake where you mention that an O level grads started 5 years ago if he/she remained an employee till now.
Suits you. You happy can already ok?
Originally posted by automator:I say it is not worth it for you to take a degree from local university as it takes 5 years from JC to university and you lose 5 years of income during these period and you spend alot of money.
But if you take WDA degree, it is around 2 years time which is very short and cheap too so is a different scenario all together
I put it here hor.
XX years to O level(that one i dun bother filling)
3 years in Poly Diploma/2 years in JC A level
XX years in Uni(anything from 2 to 5 or even more)
at the very least you serve 5 years more than O levelers.
But wouldn't you after all these have paperwork that might allow you to "choose" you field and interest career-wise???
Originally posted by Fryderyk HPH:See that?
U are the one who is descending into personal attacks and insults.
Don't worry. It's just a forum. I don't mind at all, cuz I know where I stand :)
Happened before with forumers Gazelle and stupidissmart ;)
i believe that studying more is like buying insurance. the higher qualified u r, the more areas u r covered , the more routes u r able to take.
but then agn, the top 10 richest men in the world only warren buffet is a degree holder( pardon me if im wrong).
Originally posted by eagle:Look back to the first page where I shared with you about myself.
You mentioned in your calculations that about 5 years is needed before an O level grad managed to reach 96 k in earnings, not savings.
I took about 1 year after graduation to achieve it in savings, and going to be age 26 soon (after 2 yrs NS).
It's about the rate, not about the total amount by your age. Give 1 or 2 more years, I will easily overtake where you mention that an O level grads started 5 years ago if he/she remained an employee till now.
Suits you. You happy can already ok?
TS, you do noe that some careers you need paperwork(at least a diploma) rite?
An example of this is the industry of Public Relations... An O leveler would NOT be able to do this even if he/she were to go to WDA, coz PR is a course taught in Poly and specialised in Uni.
When one comes out of a PR course in Poly, and goes to the industry, working in a blue-chip company, his average starting pay w/o bonus would be $2.5K(+ -$300) in Singapore Airlines and $2.4K(+ -$200) in Singtel.
That compared to the three years of increments if starting from the figure u stated on the first page($1.7~K), would still beat that payout.
Originally posted by Jason_87:i believe that studying more is like buying insurance. the higher qualified u r, the more areas u r covered , the more routes u r able to take.
but then agn, the top 10 richest men in the world only warren buffet is a degree holder( pardon me if im wrong).
Bill Gates was studying at Stanford when he chanced upon the lobang of MS-DOS
So was Mark Zuckerberg at Stanford when he "accidentally" created Facebook
The other rich men? Sultans in countries rich with oil.... dun need degree...
i think its best to study while you work
like you enter the workforce after your olevels and take those private courses (those can very easy to get in ) and within 5 years, you be armed with a degree and in the same time, you still get paid and workig experience while mugging for that degree
Many olevel holders have pursued degrees not simply for job sake but to have higher income earning capabilities and to climb the corporate ladders, not just to get the paper qualifications
I dont see any difference between olevel holders and degree holders , just that the latter gets more while the former would need to work more years to reach that level (unless midway, they decided to upgrade their skills)
nowadays, very few people will stick to their olevel certification and refuse to upgrade for the rest of their working life. Some who cant afford to do a degree or dont have the capabilities would also go and get a diploma or higher diploma or something.
Originally posted by eagle:Bill Gates was studying at Stanford when he chanced upon the lobang of MS-DOS
Yup. But if you can attain a higher level and upgrade ur skills, why not?
Originally posted by eagle:Automator, I share with you about myself
Because I went through the JC route, I could teach tuition well during army and uni.
So right after uni,
Salary is not $2.2k. It's >$3k. And do include year end AWS and bonuses into calculations.
And because of my uni degree, I can charge a slight premium for tuition, especially when I teach JC. Currently, tuition income is on average >$4k. Only thing is, I started this year only, because I need to make sure my job scope, etc, before I start anything as major as this.
During uni, because I focus on getting a first class, I didn't teach so much. Varies between $400 to $1k for the first 2 years cuz the courses were easier. Then did industrial attachement, which pays about $800 per month for a semester.
Furthermore, study well and you can be like me to achieve a scholarship as well, so uni fees are paid plus get allowance as well.
Also, do take into account that transport fees paid by a student is likely lesser, not to mention many student discounts when you go eat at places. In fact, travel fees in Europe are also discounted, especially when you go travel because of student exchange programmes.
So with the above, I graduated with about $50k in savings, of course with $24k debt in CPF loan, cuz I didn't use the scholarship money to pay the CPF debt. Not a lot though... Forumers like soul_rage managed $100k I believe.
With the savings, I put into certain blue chips which yield me nearly 6~7% p.a. in dividend yield, instead of paying back CPF, which charges interest of only 2.6%. Earn from the interest.
And now, after having graduated in May 08, I'm almost reaching my first 100k in savings and equities (exclude unrealised gains) soon. I'm now aiming for the 2nd 100k by end of next year. But with $17k debt of CPF loan left at the moment... Clearing at about $1k to $1.5k a month after my tuition income took off...
Some might say I siao one, why can go on and on working. But the thing is, such handling of "stress" was trained in uni...
In my company here, poly grads are capped max at $2.8k I think....
Uni grads can eventually reach $6k?? Not sure
The only way if you want to achieve high without going through NUS or NTU type of uni is to have your own business.
That just means you are going through the university of life and business.
Ok i missed your this 1st post because of the many replies in the thread.
Maybe you cna share with us how you make money from blue chips and equalities.
Because many degree holders do not know how to invest their money or give expensive tutions to boast their income.
Most degree holders just work their normal job and their only hopes of an increase in income is through annual increment or promotion
Originally posted by automator:Ok i missed your this 1st post because of the many replies in the thread.
Because many degree holders do not know how to invest their money or give expensive tutions to boast their income.
Most degree holders just work their normal job and their only hopes of an increase in income is through annual increment or promotion
I'm a Poly student and I'm into Spot Forex now.
Qualification isn't everything. But isn't it better if you earn more???
Originally posted by automator:Ok i missed your this 1st post because of the many replies in the thread.
Humbled already?
Originally posted by Fryderyk HPH:I put it here hor.
XX years to O level(that one i dun bother filling)
3 years in Poly Diploma/2 years in JC A level
XX years in Uni(anything from 2 to 5 or even more)
at the very least you serve 5 years more than O levelers.
But wouldn't you after all these have paperwork that might allow you to "choose" you field and interest career-wise???
I have spend 3 years in poly to get a diploma and when I started working I realise this is not what I wanted to do in my life.
I am sure there are many degree and diploma holders who face the same situation of chosing a course which they though interests them but did not.
What if you fall into this same category too?
Originally posted by Agenda:Humbled already?
Yup by eagle not by you.
So you don't have to feel you balls becoming bigger in anyways.
Originally posted by Fryderyk HPH:I'm a Poly student and I'm into Spot Forex now.
Qualification isn't everything. But isn't it better if you earn more???
What if you have the qualification but don't earn more?
Originally posted by automator:I have spend 3 years in poly to get a diploma and when I started working I realise this is not what I wanted to do in my life.
I am sure there are many degree and diploma holders who face the same situation of chosing a course which they though interests them but did not.
What if you fall into this same category too?
I will not fall into that same category becoz I love my course and what it does.
If you want to be so pessimistic there then no one can help you. Then again, for those that go into courses that they truly dunt want, how many love it? You have the statistics for that too?
wah lau, u think so easy increment meh???
some ple worked like 5yrs or 8yrs then increment lor..
Originally posted by automator:What if you have the qualification but don't earn more?
Do you really noe how the basis of increment and pay raises work???
Originally posted by Fryderyk HPH:I will not fall into that same category becoz I love my course and what it does.
If you want to be so pessimistic there then no one can help you. Then again, for those that go into courses that they truly dunt want, how many love it? You have the statistics for that too?
don't need to get statistics.
In my company I ask my collegues and many of them say they chose the wrong course in poly/university
Many of my friends who graduated from poly same batch as me told me they chose the wrong course in poly and they do not like it
Originally posted by Fryderyk HPH:Do you really noe how the basis of increment and pay raises work???
Put it in this way.
You can work very hard but your boss thinks that you are not working hard enough and there goes your pay increment and bonus.
You can be very lazy but your boss thinks you are hardworking and you get your increment and bonus.
Originally posted by automator:don't need to get statistics.
In my company I ask my collegues and many of them say they chose the wrong course in poly/university
Many of my friends who graduated from poly same batch as me told me they chose the wrong course in poly and they do not like it
So you really believe that ah~...
Then I can also say that all my classmates love my course what~...
The how about Masters and PHDs? Worth it or not?
I think it's nice to have PHD. You can write it on your name card.
Originally posted by eagle:Bill Gates was studying at Stanford when he chanced upon the lobang of MS-DOS
no ill intent, just fyi. gates and zuckerberg were from harvard
Originally posted by automator:Put it in this way.
You can work very hard but your boss thinks that you are not working hard enough and there goes your pay increment and bonus.
You can be very lazy but your boss thinks you are hardworking and you get your increment and bonus.
And again, what is the possibility of that?
More likely, you realise you have a cock for a boss and go somewhere else to look for a job in ur industry that suits you.
Are you really going to stick wif a boss u dun like becoz he doesn't ever give u a raise? Singapore is performance-based economy. I'm very sure employers give raises on performance. You seem quite out of touch with the industry.
Originally posted by Fryderyk HPH:So you really believe that ah~...
Then I can also say that all my classmates love my course what~...
Sometimes I still get into contact with my ex ploy classmates, cousins etc and many of them say that they chose the wrong course in poly/university.
It is just a general meeting between old classamtes who drink coffee to catch up with each other. It is not a job interview where people give politically correct answers.
Why should they lie to you?