Where's the projection of income cap for an 'O' lvl grad, diploma grad and degree grad? I'm sure 'career advancement' does not exist at all.
Originally posted by automator:Here is a simple comparison between a O level graduate, diploma and degree graduate to prove that it is not worth spending so much time and money to study.
We shall take a starting pay of $1200 for O level graduate who work as Admin Assistant and give her a 1 month bonus and $100 pay increment every year.
During the 3 years that you take to get a diploma from the polytechnic you will have incureed a cost of $6000 school fees (after government subsidy) and you will have lost 3 years of income as compared to a O level graduate who works during the 3 years that you are studying,
The O level graduate who is a admin assistant will have earned this amount in the 3 years that you spend taking a diploma
1st year: $1200*13 months(including bonus)= $15 600
2nd year: $1300(assuming a $100 increment for every year that he works)*13 months= $ 16 900
3rd year: $1400 * 13 months= $18 200.
In 3 years time, she will have earned $15 600+ $16 900 + $18 200= $50 700.
And in 3 years time due to outstanding performance she got promoted to Admin Executive and given a $300 pay increment and her salary is now $1700 a month.
A fresh diploma holder starts off as a Admin Executive drawing a salary of $1700. Both of them earns the same amount of salary but the O level graduate has worked for 3 years and during this period she have earned $50 700. Plus the diploma holder have spended $6000 on her school fees.
Note that this amount has not include the cpf portion of her employer contribution during the 3 years that she has worked. If we include in this amount it will be higher.
Clearly the O level graduate is at a advantage as compared to the diploma holder.
Now we compare a degree holder who took 5 years to get a degree( 2 years in JC and 3 years in university) with the O level graduate.
Starting from the 4 year onwards, the O level graduate who is now a Admin Executive earns $1700 a month.
4th year: $1700*13 months= $22 100
5th year: $1800*13 months= $23 400
At the end of the 5 years, the O level graduate Admin Exceutive will have earned $50 700+ $22 100+ $23 400= $96 200. Her salary at that time will be $1800 a month.
The university graduate let us give her a salary of $2200 a month. Wow not bad sia she earns $400 a month more than the O level graduate.
But wait. during the 5 years that she took to get a degree, the O level graduate have already earned $96 200.
You go and calculate how long must this university graduate work than she can earn back the loss of $96 200 income that she loss in these 5 years. Not to mention, she started off with a net loss of $30 000( calculated by using $10 000 a year school fee multiply by 3 years course fee. And $10 000 a year school fee is already considered cheap. Some university courses costs more than $10 000 a year).
So after this calculation, you say whether is it worth it to take a degree or diploma anot?
so when u got fired/retrenchment in the company.
u go out and start with 1.2k again? or a stable 2.2k? ![]()
Originally posted by mlmersrlosers:ya cannot compare. Working life of a degree holder cannot compare with life of an o level. As an O level u may have to slog ur life working 5.5 days per week to earn that precious 1200.
A degree holder may be the O level's boss, ordering him/her to do things and still earning twice as much as him/her.
Think about this.
A degree holder may be the O level's boss, ordering him/her to do things and still earning twice as much as him/her.
can it be the other way round?
Originally posted by seyKai:A degree holder may be the O level's boss, ordering him/her to do things and still earning twice as much as him/her.
Can obviously
ok, may be to give TS some leeway...if TS becomes his own boss...and able to become entrepreneur, and get degree holders to work for you, it is ok. =)
But then normally that constitutes only about 10-15% of society, most people work for others.
Originally posted by nightzip:ok, may be to give TS some leeway...if TS becomes his own boss...and able to become entrepreneur, and get degree holders to work for you, it is ok. =)
But then normally that constitutes only about 10-15% of society, most people work for others.
lee ka shing, bill gates, sim wong hoo finish their schooling?
lolwtfisthisshit.
Originally posted by seyKai:lee ka shing, bill gates, sim wong hoo finish their schooling?
So you're the next Lee Ka Shing, Bill Gates or Sim Wong Hoo?
Why not quit school now?
Originally posted by seyKai:A degree holder may be the O level's boss, ordering him/her to do things and still earning twice as much as him/her.
yes provided ur an entrepreneur. Then u r entitled to shout at plp.
Originally posted by automator:Here is a simple comparison between a O level graduate, diploma and degree graduate to prove that it is not worth spending so much time and money to study.
We shall take a starting pay of $1200 for O level graduate who work as Admin Assistant and give her a 1 month bonus and $100 pay increment every year.
During the 3 years that you take to get a diploma from the polytechnic you will have incureed a cost of $6000 school fees (after government subsidy) and you will have lost 3 years of income as compared to a O level graduate who works during the 3 years that you are studying,
The O level graduate who is a admin assistant will have earned this amount in the 3 years that you spend taking a diploma
2nd year: $1300(assuming a $100 increment for every year that he works)*13 months= $ 16 900
And in 3 years time due to outstanding performance she got promoted to Admin Executive and given a $300 pay increment and her salary is now $1700 a month.
A fresh diploma holder starts off as a Admin Executive drawing a salary of $1700. Both of them earns the same amount of salary but the O level graduate has worked for 3 years and during this period she have earned $50 700. Plus the diploma holder have spended $6000 on her school fees.
Note that this amount has not include the cpf portion of her employer contribution during the 3 years that she has worked. If we include in this amount it will be higher.
Clearly the O level graduate is at a advantage as compared to the diploma holder.
Now we compare a degree holder who took 5 years to get a degree( 2 years in JC and 3 years in university) with the O level graduate.
Starting from the 4 year onwards, the O level graduate who is now a Admin Executive earns $1700 a month.
At the end of the 5 years, the O level graduate Admin Exceutive will have earned $50 700+ $22 100+ $23 400= $96 200. Her salary at that time will be $1800 a month.
The university graduate let us give her a salary of $2200 a month. Wow not bad sia she earns $400 a month more than the O level graduate.
But wait. during the 5 years that she took to get a degree, the O level graduate have already earned $96 200.
You go and calculate how long must this university graduate work than she can earn back the loss of $96 200 income that she loss in these 5 years. Not to mention, she started off with a net loss of $30 000( calculated by using $10 000 a year school fee multiply by 3 years course fee. And $10 000 a year school fee is already considered cheap. Some university courses costs more than $10 000 a year).
So after this calculation, you say whether is it worth it to take a degree or diploma anot?
so u PSLE, O levels, diploma or degree?
next time ur kids?
Originally posted by GHoST_18:so u PSLE, O levels, diploma or degree?
next time ur kids?
his kids got the KDO qualification: kindergarten drop out...
Originally posted by the Bear:
whoa
then self-learn lor?
Originally posted by the Bear:
Where got? His kids will all have PhD.
Preschool halfway Dropout. ![]()
Precum Halfway Drip?
Originally posted by mlmersrlosers:
yes provided ur an entrepreneur. Then u r entitled to shout at plp.
i will practice my shouting now b4 i do the real ting later
Originally posted by seyKai:lee ka shing, bill gates, sim wong hoo finish their schooling?
out of 156879898657557 sch quitters, oni got a handful made it big.
btw... for those who rant about "Bill Gates" and all, he was a straight-A student.. with a bloody point average which will make geniuses look dumb...
he was in school but he had a product (MS-DOS) which needed to be put into the market... and he needed to devote more time to his product so he quit school...
if his product failed, he could waltz into CalTech or MIT or Stanford whenever he wanted to... and they'll snatch him without a thought..
can the typical school leaver say that?
p.s. there are others.. all with not just a spark but a raging fire of GENIUS... how many are there out there who can truly claim that?
Originally posted by the Bear:btw... for those who rant about "Bill Gates" and all, he was a straight-A student.. with a bloody point average which will make geniuses look dumb...
he was in school but he had a product (MS-DOS) which needed to be put into the market... and he needed to devote more time to his product so he quit school...
if his product failed, he could waltz into CalTech or MIT or Stanford whenever he wanted to... and they'll snatch him without a thought..
can the typical school leaver say that?
p.s. there are others.. all with not just a spark but a raging fire of GENIUS... how many are there out there who can truly claim that?
that was what I wanted to say
you put it in better words and context :)
I'm seriously sick and tired of people who keep pointing to Bill Gates/ Steve Jobs/ Sim Wong Hoo et al as an excuse for not pursuing a good education....
Like it or not, a good education combined with hard work is still the surest ticket to a brighter future.
education is a formality, I was in 1 of the uni in Jakarta n I asked 1 Assoc Prof on how many graduates in engineering are engaged as engineer. he answered 4% out of more than 11,000.
so wat say u?
woah.. are you serious? now i'm worried.. lol i'm a engineer as well haha
Originally posted by seyKai:education is a formality, I was in 1 of the uni in Jakarta n I asked 1 Assoc Prof on how many graduates in engineering are engaged as engineer. he answered 4% out of more than 11,000.
so wat say u?
So did you drop out of uni once he told you that?
still worth i think. nowadays, in singapore at least a dipolma then u can go far. think ahead not short gains...
if u can even try do business,invest or do something big.
Originally posted by seyKai:education is a formality, I was in 1 of the uni in Jakarta n I asked 1 Assoc Prof on how many graduates in engineering are engaged as engineer. he answered 4% out of more than 11,000.
so wat say u?
Engineering degree from Jakarta uni and in Jarkata?
They are not really known for engineering...