Originally posted by Short Ninja:I remember you once wrote something about WW2.My uncle was only 14 or 15 but still he was forced to go up the truck although that was not supposed to happen,he was never seen again.Of course you not my uncle lah but just sharing this with you also>LOL
I was still a kid during WWII. We lived downtown and after a frightening Japanese air raid many move to the kampongs. We move to somewhere near Siang Lim Temple at the end of Kim Keat Road (probably Lor 8 area). It was a rubber plantation and the family huddled together as we heard gun shots and bombs exploding.
I was too young to understand danger. I ran to play one morning, pick up the dead angmo soldier's water bottles back to the kampong shed. My parents were so angry and I got whacked terok terok, the worst I ever been punished.
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:I was still a kid during WWII. We lived downtown and after a frightening Japanese air raid many move to the kampongs. We move to somewhere near Siang Lim Temple at the end of Kim Keat Road (probably Lor 8 area). It was a rubber plantation and the family huddled together as we heard gun shots and bombs exploding.
I was too young to understand danger. I ran to play one morning, pick up the dead angmo soldier's water bottles back to the kampong shed. My parents were so angry and I got whacked terok terok, the worst I ever been punished.
In the old days parents would give children a beating they would never forget so there wont be a repeat of the mistake.Now we slow talk to them like civilise parents and what we get in return? Monster children
Do you remember the Prince Edward Road makan place. Lots of nice mee goreng, satay, Indian rojak, mutton soup, teh tarek etc.
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:Do you remember the Prince Edward Road makan place. Lots of nice mee goreng, satay, Indian rojak, mutton soup, teh tarek etc.
I am shy to tell you this..I forgot where Prince Edward Rd is but I know as a kid my parents took me the alot>LOL
Originally posted by Short Ninja:
In the old days parents would give children a beating they would never forget so there wont be a repeat of the mistake.Now we slow talk to them like civilise parents and what we get in return? Monster children
We never whacked our children real hard, ocassional caning by old girl. She is tough, so they don't punk around. Turn out ok.
I am shy to tell you this..I forgot where Prince Edward Rd is but I know as a kid my parents took me the alot>LOL
At the end of Shenton Way. One of my favourite makan spot.
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:At the end of Shenton Way. One of my favourite makan spot.
Yes ok I remember and still missed all the open air makan places before they started having hawker inspectors and relocating people.You remember the name Lim Ban Lim? Well, he was my grandmother's neighbor at the kampong where I spent most of my school holidays
Originally posted by Short Ninja:Yes ok I remember and still missed all the open air makan places before they started having hawker inspectors and relocating people.You remember the name Lim Ban Lim? Well, he was my grandmother's neighbor at the kampong where I spent most of my school holidays
You mean Tua Tow Lim? the famous kidnapper that was killed in the 60s.
Faint memory now, did he lived in Lor Tai Seng?
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:You mean Tua Tow Lim? the famous kidnapper that was killed in the 60s.
Faint memory now, did he lived in Lor Tai Seng?
that is right
Lorong Tai Seng, home of the 3 bad boys in the 60s.
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:Lorong Tai Seng, home of the 3 bad boys in the 60s.
Gave my father a lot of headache and heartache while growing up so it was a good thing I joined the army otherwise there would have been 4 bad boys>LOL.The police would raid this place all they wanted but never had any luck in arresting anyone.
In the old days there was a lot of 'Save Water campaign and water rationing during the dry days when the water level at the reservoirs were low.People would find ways to contain rain water whenever it rains cuz we love our save water mascot 'Bobo 'the elephant.
in the past, when the teachers punished the child, the child would go home and kena punished a 2nd time for disgracing the family..
these days, the teachers punish the child for committing henious misdeeds, the parents would go and complain and demand that the teacher be punished
Originally posted by the Bear:in the past, when the teachers punished the child, the child would go home and kena punished a 2nd time for disgracing the family..
these days, the teachers punish the child for committing henious misdeeds, the parents would go and complain and demand that the teacher be punished
This is exactly what is happening in Japan too and parents who do that are coined as 'Monster Parents'.Many teacher have commited suicide because of this.
Actually a japanese would find any excuse to commit suicide just to get a new life>LOL
bet your mother didn't beat u hard enough, should beat u to death so this word have one lesser pest
Originally posted by Fire Cracker:
bet your mother didn't beat u hard enough, should beat u to death so this word have one lesser pest
Yes, it is true my mother didnt beat me to death because she wanted me to grow up strong and healthy so that I could beat the living crap out of people like you.Now if you have nothing good or simply nothing to contribute to this topic why torture yourself ?Instead of hentak kaki over here you can choose to cepat jalan..
hey dun deny la. your mother dun love u. u r idiot, u r insane, u better go and die. u r a lame dog. you fuck your own mother.
Nevermind about the lunatic above me.Anyways can anyone remember the Pesta Sukan road races of the 70s with the free certificates handed out upon completion?
Originally posted by Short Ninja:Nevermind about the lunatic above me.Anyways can anyone remember the Pesta Sukan road races of the 70s with the free certificates handed out upon completion?
Heard of it, ended in the 80s. Sports were much simpler then.
Originally posted by Short Ninja:Gave my father a lot of headache and heartache while growing up so it was a good thing I joined the army otherwise there would have been 4 bad boys>LOL.The police would raid this place all they wanted but never had any luck in arresting anyone.
Joined the army and becomes ninja now.![]()
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:Joined the army and becomes ninja now.
Was a martial arts fanatic who never could turned down a good fight but now I only bully kecik in sgforums
The Pesta Sukan weekend runs were so popular where tens of thousands would take part but the roads would still be open still no accidents occured.Now we go back to the 60s again where rumors has it that numerous arson were started by _ _ _ .Sorry cant say it here>LOL
Was a martial arts fanatic who never could turned down a good fight but now I only bully kecik in sgforums
Famous was the private vigilante of Lor 3 Geylang. Finally still got burnt down in 1983.
The foundation of land banker.![]()
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:Famous was the private vigilante of Lor 3 Geylang. Finally still got burnt down in 1983.
The foundation of land banker.
There was a hugh fire in Kampung Ubi in the 60s could see the blaze and feel the heat from my grandmother's kampung which was closeby.Maybe the biggest fire ever in Singapore's post war history