remembers life as a kid..............remember who i am......remember .....remembering....now i forgot....
There are part of my life I forget too. Too mundane.
truies remembering...............is afraid i never had much of a life in spore weekdays n weekends.
goes to bed ..............in spore....remembered the aircon only n how cold it was.....
i remember the old siglap wet market!!!the pork seller there who used to chop pork fat in his spare time........i remeber the kuay chap store with wooden stools n the filthy wet concrtete broken floor.....i remember the shops....the smell.....
old robinsons at specialist centre.......it had so much toys in those days all cluttered in shelves in neat rows with red carpets.nice aircon too and they had all kinds of xmas decoration on sale at shelves
and the singapura plaza with the music school on top level with a chiobu who sit so near to me when i was yunger....then yaohan at bottom with cotten candy and dumb merry go round and the bumper cars...,,,eating ufo snacks freshly made even though it made me get a headache was a fad in those days!
and katong shopping centre basement where i bargained for better n cooler lookin rubber gundam robot tokens with woman there after buying 3 bottles of yakult in xchange fer one as a sales gimmick from yakult.
ah yes...those were the days of collective bargaining and aggrresive negotiations.
remembers east coast beach granite rocks that was placed there to prevent erosion....waa.....so much funny things livings inside...from small black crabs to strange black soft things.,,,,,remebmers jetty in morning where so much kunning fish just hook onto the reel even with no bait,,,,,,,,,,,,
remebers tampines still as a jungle............remembers changi village that hasnt changed much.,,,,remembers they demolished the japanese pillboxes near changiroad intersection even though they repaintd it..............remebers saturday only parkway parade was the best.......went there to library,tear out some nude pictures and go home:)no playboy mags.
i dont see those floor signages in blue paint next to the staircases in HDB blocks these days
Originally posted by JJxJJ:i dont see those floor signages in blue paint next to the staircases in HDB blocks these days
Not sure about these signages.
There are too many posts for me to read and to know whether it has already been said but here is mine :
1. teddy bear, teddy bear, turn around... teddy bear teddy bear, touch the ground
2. Pepsi cola 123
3. wo jia de mu ji wo jia check, wo jia the gong ji wo jia check.
3. Coconut tree
How old are you hitman?
I remember when I stayed with my grandmother, the window is the whole wall and it's netted with metal bars which we used to stand at the window and pull these metal nets like monkey bars. Then when raining all water splash in, we got to let down the straw canvas cover then roof leaking, we take the buckets to seng the water... lol.. very fun. Then grandmother open durian got fat worms inside, all come out and crawl in 1 line...very disgusting... when I go school, go downstair wait for bus, raining the floor flood, then cockroaches all over trying to fight dry space with me!!!
Originally posted by longjiangpass:There are too many posts for me to read and to know whether it has already been said but here is mine :
2. Pepsi cola 123
seven UP!
and i remeber katong shopping centre top floor next to morgans hobby shop...an area which is deserted ,,,,,the area used to be another emporium before they converted it into some dozen shops or so without much business.
and i remember piling werk done on building next to katong shopping centre...so much noise and werk....just to build a building that dun really sell much stuff.
and i rmeber old c.k. tang at scotts roads with the strange chinese stuff on sale,,,the strange jack in the box toys....i remeber jacks place there too.....
then thers the old mph at old library near city hall.it was so old and musty until u could swear if it wasnt for those new books the place looked unrenovated.and i remebered the old indian guy who used to man the lift with the cast iron retractable old fashioned lift doors......
remembers eating $1.20 laksa...............remebers metro goldenmile.............. remeber islands from the air as i flew to spore......islands after islands....from south east asia.remebering landing on island for supplies...............
remebers old airport and ate corn there,,,,yummm....remebers new airport that opened and i ate jaelepeno chillis at churchs fried chicken which is now delifrance
thinks bout renovation after reading on worms n floods
remembers people digging up all the graves next to main road all the skulls and bones all over the grass everywhere...so scary with all those mud......remebers eating prawn noodles.....remebers japanese neighbours....remebers in the past it was much cooler thsn today strangely....maybe because i didnt have much fats in those days..
remembers roads in changi were still overshadowed by trees and bamboos and old mansions.remebers siglap library with old chinese books only............remebers the old sabre jet planes on sentosa island......they should have kept them.....remebers sentosa snakes as a god forsaken place with and daimaru and yaohan thomson.
.............i lead an unexciting life when i was younger.just werk ,sleep,werk,sleep

Like the red brick National Library and the delicious wanton mee and beef hor fun at the canteen next to it.
YES CHEW,,,,,all the hawker stalls are still there.......but i dunno if the food is as good as b4.last time i tasted,..,was so so only.....think a pack of sushi taste the same too.
Originally posted by Hitman_:YES CHEW,,,,,all the hawker stalls are still there.......but i dunno if the food is as good as b4.last time i tasted,..,was so so only.....think a pack of sushi taste the same too.
No more old National Library at Stamfod Road. Now a tunnel pass through there.
and i remebered Tay Ban Guan shopping emporium with the cardboard security guard in green uniform paint!and the canned food at first floor and the fountains and plenty of nice food and ice cream at the milkshake bar or cafe next to it............and i went upstairs and there were more shops.....yess......those were the days of hot weather and old ang mo doin shopping inside.
such a strange place.......
and i remebered gay world city in east coast area or geylang with all those amusement park machines,pinballs and walls painted with ww2 japanese planes firing all ova!!!
remebers the laksa there...was only $1.5 or $2.
remebers eating rthe same stuff in thailand.....in same encvironment many decades later.
remebers the police cenrtre cid next to tay ban guan.....all the police go in and out and very rough people walking out of there.remebers katong area....with all the nice stuff there and they sold toy authentic guns.
me led a boring life in spore...................so din see much...........knows park in katong view next to small hotel is a nice peaceful place next to the sea walking distance.
remebers swimming club outside with an old skinny indian man selling soup kambing with bread......the indian man is still alive lookin the same as that when the british were still around.he never changed physically.i found him werking still with soup kambing in geylang serai big muslim restaurant along the stretch of geylang serai road which wa once a movie theatre..right across the road with the stretch of muslim restaurants ,,,,opposite old geylang serai old abandoned market.
remebers the big car park next to katong shopping centre and the long kang......i remebered the meter or ticket gal went around in hat n umbrella checking for expired coupons or so......remebers the cake shop next to katong shopping cntre next to den tist shop and malayan bank.....they had the best marble cake i have ever eaten!
remebers the vietnam war and how explosions rocked the place and tremors ....from afar.remebers the moon landing on tv.....remebers the firewerks above national stadium