thats cuz LKY is afraid his past will be looked down upon.he joined the japs as a radio operator!they all say people must survive so they go werk fer the japenis. the japs must have given him plenty of japanese caipng even though its tofu n rice only.
anyway no one must remember his resume.
Originally posted by Arapahoe:I wonder why Singapore does not have a War memorial day to remember WWII.
The way our heritage is preseved it only takes another 2 Sin generations to think that Jap occupation in Sin only happen in a Wax muesum....and another decade to conclude it was for tourist only.....
You mean a public holiday izzit?LOL.Just kidding,I think maybe for our healing we should all try to forget past wars.
Originally posted by Short Ninja:
You mean a public holiday izzit?LOL.Just kidding,I think maybe for our healing we should all try to forget past wars.
Well it is more of purpose of forging national identity, and of course public holiday have the rest time to think with friends over Tiger Beer and Sushi....ha ha ha
Originally posted by Arapahoe:Well it is more of purpose of forging national identity, and of course public holiday have the rest time to think with friends over Tiger Beer and Sushi....ha ha ha
Come to think of it World War II ended some 50 years ago but to have a whole day to commemorate that event...dont now lah must ask Unker Chew what is his opinion on that>LOL
Don't care too much if there is a holiday or not to commemorate. What can you expect from youngsters nowadays that Avatar is more real than old junk history.
I see churches,temples and mosques grow in SIngapore from a humble beginning to a place where you can now worship in style but there is one small mosque at the entrance of Margaret Drive that has not changed since the beginning of its time....can anyone tell me whats the story behind it? And I wonder if there are other places just like this one
Hmm... humble place of worship?
Not enuf fund raising?
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:Hmm... humble place of worship?
Not enuf fund raising?
In the old days people might say,'Makan money'>LOL
I wonder why?
I remember going to the expos to 'gamble' on the umber or color boards for chips which you could later exchange for can food with expired dates,what a rip off after that you could let off your steam by chopping on a piano with a blunt axe for $1.And in the background of all that is going on there an Ah Beng band would be playing hokkien rock and roll tunes for you.
Do you remember the curry puff boy/man who did door to door sales during the afternoon? I remember my grandma always bought curry puffs for me, then we would watch the Ch 8 3pm reruns of drama serials while munching on them.
How about those mysterious black bags which could be bought from mama ships? You never knew what to expect inside!
And three Hacks/Hudson sweets for 10 cents anyone?
I dont remember the mysterious black bags but I was a regular customer of the Hacks/Hudson 10 cents sweet.
Originally posted by Short Ninja:I dont remember the mysterious black bags but I was a regular customer of the Hacks/Hudson 10 cents sweet.
Were you a kid during the late 80s?
Originally posted by Short Ninja:I dont remember the mysterious black bags but I was a regular customer of the Hacks/Hudson 10 cents sweet.
Never been a fan of cough drops or sweets. My sweet tooth started from my old girl's habit. She loves toffee.
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:Never been a fan of cough drops or sweets. My sweet tooth started from my old girl's habit. She loves toffee.
That was very popular........even chinese new year also can find them on the trays.
Originally posted by Marco_Simone:Were you a kid during the late 80s?
No lah that time already in the my prime and a sadist in the army.LOL
Originally posted by Short Ninja:That was very popular........even chinese new year also can find them on the trays.
Now hardly take them. Good to buy some for new year.
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:Now hardly take them. Good to buy some for new year.
Prolly buy for yourself.It was a British goodie an eating habit brought in during the colonial times now people just eat GLICO POCKY and shut up>LOL
Probably. Nowadays nobody like sweets anymore.
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:Probably. Nowadays nobody like sweets anymore.
Indonesia .The rural areas are like back in 60s Singapore where kids play simple games and constantly beg relatives to buy them sweets.I dont know why they called it 'permin'=Sweet or something that sounds like that
Peppermint?
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:Peppermint?
Seems like they call all sweets permin even if got no peppermint
Many angmoh travellers carry mints, probably that's why.
Originally posted by Chew Bakar:Many angmoh travellers carry mints, probably that's why.
So the stingy ang mor give only one mint per person and become = Permin izzit?![]()
Originally posted by Short Ninja:So the stingy ang mor give only one mint per person and become = Permin izzit?
If 30 kids asking it better be permin, don't think they have much left then.