stupid mindset
that Air level students
will fare better then poly students
some air level students brain very dead
one when go to work everyting also by book
left the brain at school? cant even think
of simple logic
Originally posted by stellazio:Ask the gahmen to cut down on the foreign students intake!
That should be the way
Seriously, like you give them free scholarship to come here study, while we get none at all?
If they want to increase the foreign students intake, They SHOULD raise the percentage to be fair.
Originally posted by Junyang700:
Shows that you are doing your A levels, and feel that A levels students are more superior. =X
I am not doing my A levels, and i'm simply stating a fact given that the comparison predicates on academia. While I concede that polytechnics have improved, the whole idea of high flying poly students being newsworthy material shows that the phenomenon is still extraordinary. You don't see the straits times telling you how many RJ students make it to the ivy league every year, because its so common and expected that no one even cares.
I read in Straits Time that of the cohorts of student entering poly.. 25% could have made it to JC if they had wanted. This means 75% of poly students got L1R5 of 20 and above.
I hate to say this but doesn't it mean that majority of students in poly are less capable (in terms of academic performance) then Jc peers. A large group of them can't make it to Jc. The majority of the better performing students are in Jcs. This translates into stiffer competition for Jc kids. If the government increases poly intake into uni this only means that some of the more capable JCs kids would be denied a chance in local uni. That isn't fair to them. If the govt decides to increase % of poly students admitted into uni due to pressure then I'll view it as similar to the new economic policy in malaysia.
The weaker community is given additional help for them to succeed in life at the expense of stronger community. You can see the repercussions in malaysia today. The better performing indians and chineses chose to leave. Similarly,if govt decides to artificially increase % of poly intake in uni to enable more poly students into uni we are only gonna to see more brain drain and loss of local talents.
Some of you might have argued that Jc students are only book smart while poly students are better in hands on stuffs. How do you all know that Jc kids can't do better than the poly guys if they had decided to join polytechnics. Remember, JC students had a choice while majority (75%) of poly students don't. In fact, i believe that if the Jc system was to be scraped and replaced with polytechnics. The same group of people (those in elite Jcs) are gonna to top in poly as well.
Let's face it. Many poly students chose poly for they felt that they have problems with english and are fearful of GP. It gave the impression that poly is a 'shelter' for them to hide from the stiff competition in Jc. If they were competing in a shelter with less capable people, what gave them the right to ask for more uni places at the expense of the more capable ones in JCs?
i agree so much with lee, poly students should just start working after graduating
Originally posted by hoto:I read in Straits Time that of the cohorts of student entering poly.. 25% could have made it to JC if they had wanted. This means 75% of poly students got L1R5 of 20 and above.
I hate to say this but doesn't it mean that majority of students in poly are less capable (in terms of academic performance) then Jc peers. A large group of them can't make it to Jc. The majority of the better performing students are in Jcs. This translates into stiffer competition for Jc kids. If the government increases poly intake into uni this only means that some of the more capable JCs kids would be denied a chance in local uni. That isn't fair to them. If the govt decides to increase % of poly students admitted into uni due to pressure then I'll view it as similar to the new economic policy in malaysia.
The weaker community is given additional help for them to succeed in life at the expense of stronger community. You can see the repercussions in malaysia today. The better performing indians and chineses chose to leave. Similarly,if govt decides to artificially increase % of poly intake in uni to enable more poly students into uni we are only gonna to see more brain drain and loss of local talents.
Some of you might have argued that Jc students are only book smart while poly students are better in hands on stuffs. How do you all know that Jc kids can't do better than the poly guys if they had decided to join polytechnics. Remember, JC students had a choice while majority (75%) of poly students don't. In fact, i believe that if the Jc system was to be scraped and replaced with polytechnics. The same group of people (those in elite Jcs) are gonna to top in poly as well.
Let's face it. Many poly students chose poly for they felt that they have problems with english and are fearful of GP. It gave the impression that poly is a 'shelter' for them to hide from the stiff competition in Jc. If they were competing in a shelter with less capable people, what gave them the right to ask for more uni places at the expense of the more capable ones in JCs?
Good job well done, you've done extremely well in turning this whole issue and changing the context.
Might I remind you that this issue isn't about Poly students asking for more spots in University but rather, some guy who suggested that Poly should not be given spots in University.
So because some the JC students aren't performing in their A Levels, suddenly poly students are at fault even though we only take up 20% of the yearly intake? Isn't this society about meritocracy? Don't we always talk about equal rights and chances? No one forbided you to select the poly route when you have the chance, neither did another stop you from going JC. Who are you to decide that Poly students should just stop at Polytechnic?
If you're a JC student, I'm utterly disappointed as to what kind of education JC is giving you. I can't even start on your stupidity, actually if I were you, I would not even reply to this.
This is what I've observed in my workplace.
About 60% of the JC guys I've seen cannot follow simple instructions given to them, such as: "Go to ______, outside make a right turn." Instead, they always make a left turn, even though instructions are given to them 5 minutes ago.
And I've seen a JC guy even more powerful. There are CLEAR instructions on the turnstile that the entrance is specially for pass holders (security card). And yet he forcibly turn the turnstile, making a din "How do I get through here?"
Sometimes I wonder, do they study to the extent that they are not street-smart, or simply, no common sense? If that's the case, how are they going to survive in this world?
Quoted from hoto:
"Let's face it. Many poly students chose poly for they felt that they have problems with english and are fearful of GP. It gave the impression that poly is a 'shelter' for them to hide from the stiff competition in Jc. If they were competing in a shelter with less capable people, what gave them the right to ask for more uni places at the expense of the more capable ones in JCs?"
Well, let me tell you this. Most of the polytechnic entrants are around 16-17 years old. As this age, they have seen the value of the polytechnic diplomas when they graduated; more working experiences, being a professional in specialising in certain areas, higher pay than their A level counterparts when they graduate. And more importantly, they are mature enough to make decisions relating to their future because it is a 3 year specialising course. As for those entering JC, they are simply a bunch of people who wish to buy time during these 2 years because they simply cannot decide for their future at this age, and they need someone to depend on (parents helping them to decide on JC route).
If I am a boss, frankly speaking I would hire someone with a polytechnic diploma cause he has the relevant skills and working experiences prior to entering my company. Thus, less time is spent on teaching him or her all the basics, and this valuable time can be used for something else (cost-savings).
This is Singapore. The system is shaped from long long time ago so people will naturally think that JC is a "superior system" to enter university. Don't forget, in other parts of the world. Having a diploma is like having a degree where it is highly sought upon, cause the population value the practicability aspect of that diploma and how it can improve the economy.
Change your mindset people! ![]()
Actually I just feel that we should stop offering too many scholarships to foreigners.
Most of the foreigners that came here aren't academically inclined nor doing better as our Singaporean counterparts, but are entering our local universities, denying both poly and JC students a chance to get in.
The percentage of polytechnic students going to university is too low, and should be increased with a more highly qualified student population.
Seriously, many JC students that have failed to enter universities have ended up becoming policemen or joined the SAF with their A level cert, which offers them higher pay, as compared to the outside commercial world, or ended up pursuing degrees overseas.
Poly students who cant make it to uni have too, also ended up pursuing their degrees overseas....
Which ultimately causes them to migrate overseas when they find better opportunities there.... and our population just dies down.
Originally posted by Junyang700:LOL.... The one who wrote it should be a parent. His name almost certainly suggests so.
Anyway, he should really go to polytechnic open houses and have a look himself.
Yes, indeed, poly route is the final destination back in our parent's times (for the 40s, 50s...) These days, many do not stop here. They go to local or overseas uni.
A poly cert is also more credible these days. And more and more good students are choosing the poly route to get to a university because it gives them more exposure to working life and life experiences, rather than JC, which focuses more towards the academics, and fitness for preparation of NS.
Although today, many high fliers still choose the JC route, the trend has been that many have chosen the poly route, and are doing far better than the JC students.
Anyway, the GPA for the polytechnic students have been improving. For what I know, a GPA of about 3.6 these days dun even guarantee a university place for polytechnic students, where a GPA lower than 3.6 could have easily gotten a poly student into a university in the past.
On the other hand, there are many parents and students who feel that they would confirm get places in the local universities just merely because they are JC students, and are more superior than the polytechnic students. 20 pointers these days are snatching up the JC places, because they have no elsewhere to go apart from ITE while 8 pointers are snatching up the poly places.
Do you know that Cut off point (COP) for almost all courses in polytechnics are below 15 these days? Certainly not for a lot of people.... I got a shock when I saw my youngest brother's COP booklet, where my time it was like 20.
But think about it, Jc students do play a lot too much when they are in J1.... and ended up staying back already in JC and there are lots of them who have been getting too much involved with their CCAs, that they have forgotten about their academics.
Many are also being "forced" by their parents to go there... and seriously could not cope with their studies.... They are just trying their best to remain their mentality that they are more "superior"....
If you are lazy, why should the local universities enrol you into their schools?
Meritocracy - Think about it.
Seriously, that is just being a "loser" to suggest and demand a place when your results are inferior.
After reading your post, I was left to wonder whether you really knew what you were talking about. And I came to the conclusion that you might not.
"Although today, many high fliers still choose the JC route, the trend has been that many have chosen the poly route, and are doing far better than the JC students."
Doing far better? I'm really not sure how you can qualify that.
"On the other hand, there are many parents and students who feel that they would confirm get places in the local universities just merely because they are JC students, and are more superior than the polytechnic students. 20 pointers these days are snatching up the JC places, because they have no elsewhere to go apart from ITE while 8 pointers are snatching up the poly places.
Do you know that Cut off point (COP) for almost all courses in polytechnics are below 15 these days? Certainly not for a lot of people.... I got a shock when I saw my youngest brother's COP booklet, where my time it was like 20."
Wow. Reading this part of your post was such an eye-opener. 20 pointers go to JC because they have nowhere else to go apart from ITE? What a joke. Their 20 points are calculated based on their L1R5. If you apply for a poly course, it's your L1R4 that's taken into consideration. So I daresay that many of those 20 pointers who went to JC could easily have made it into quite a number of the poly courses available.
"8 pointers are snatching up the poly places".
While I don't deny this, 8 pointers are hardly considered the cream of the crop in the first place! And this has been the case ever since the introduction of the Integrated Programme.
"Do you know that Cut off point (COP) for almost all courses in polytechnics are below 15 these days? Certainly not for a lot of people.... I got a shock when I saw my youngest brother's COP booklet, where my time it was like 20."
Like I said earlier, my dear, it's the L1R4 that's taken into consideration when you apply for a poly course, while it's the L1R5 that's taken into consideration when you apply for JC. Many people make the mistake of comparing the cut-off points of JCs and polys directly, and you're no exception.
"But think about it, Jc students do play a lot too much when they are in J1.... and ended up staying back already in JC and there are lots of them who have been getting too much involved with their CCAs, that they have forgotten about their academics.
Many are also being "forced" by their parents to go there... and seriously could not cope with their studies.... They are just trying their best to remain their mentality that they are more "superior"....
If you are lazy, why should the local universities enrol you into their schools?
Meritocracy - Think about it.
Seriously, that is just being a "loser" to suggest and demand a place when your results are inferior."
You're over-generalising. It's as simple as that. The JC curriculum is a challenging and demanding one and many people work hard to cope with its demands. What's with the insinuation that people in JC are lazy? In case you're wondering, Bs and Cs in the A-levels are unlikely to get you a place in the local universities anymore.
So wake up and smell the coffee! Stop living in your own world where you think that "so-and-so is inferior, blah-blah-blah is better"! If you haven't realised by now, I didn't make any digs at poly students and only stated the plain facts, while you had to resort to making baseless accusations against JC students. I can't stop you from making your own opinions known, but it would really be good if you could be more careful with the things you say.
For the record, I'll be moving on to JC next year, so you are free to think that I might be biased in my evaluation of the issue.
both groups are mutually exxclusive lah. Both sets have their black sheep.
Originally posted by Agenda:Good job well done, you've done extremely well in turning this whole issue and changing the context.
Might I remind you that this issue isn't about Poly students asking for more spots in University but rather, some guy who suggested that Poly should not be given spots in University.
So because some the JC students aren't performing in their A Levels, suddenly poly students are at fault even though we only take up 20% of the yearly intake? Isn't this society about meritocracy? Don't we always talk about equal rights and chances? No one forbided you to select the poly route when you have the chance, neither did another stop you from going JC. Who are you to decide that Poly students should just stop at Polytechnic?
If you're a JC student, I'm utterly disappointed as to what kind of education JC is giving you. I can't even start on your stupidity, actually if I were you, I would not even reply to this.
You have totally misread Lee's message. When did Lee ever suggest that 'Poly students should not be given spots to university', as proclaimed by you? He merely said that JC students deserves priority in going to local university. Does this equates to saying polytechnic students should not be given any places? To make things easier for you to understand. Let me quote some of the stuffs he wrote..
'they cannot expect a second bite of the cherry with the same priority in university admission as JC students'
'but they cannot expect greater access to local universities'
Agenda, tell me when did he ever say that poly students should not be getting any places in local uni?
In fact,the main point of his article is that JC students should deserve more priority and poly students should not persistently demand for an increase in % of uni places allocated to them. This is the point which I have tried to address in my previous reply. In what way have I turned the whole issue and change the context as you have so confidently claimed in your post. I would love to hear your argument. That is if you can provide one =D
If you're a JC student, I'm utterly disappointed as to what kind of education JC is giving you. I can't even start on your stupidity, actually if I were you, I would not even reply to this. (By agenda)
Haha. Why are you bashing the JC education system now? Are you trying to draw me into a mudslingering against the Poly education system? Sorry. You are not going to succeed. I would love to find the reason for your disdain towards the JC education. I seriously hope it's not inferiority complex at work again!!!
Anyway,you mentioned about equality and meritocracy. These ideas can only work if everybody is competing on equal grounds. Don't bring out these terms and use them indiscriminately when you did not even use your smart brain to think whether they are applicable in the first place.
Let me give you a simple analogy. Two students were the top students from their respective schools. One from RI or HCI while the other guy was from YJC. The top student from RI/HCI was given prestigious scholarship but not the top student from YJC. The YJC student then decided to bring out the lofty idea of equality and meritocracy (just like you Agenda) and demanding his rights to the prestigious scholarships because he's also a top student too, albeit from YJC.
Now Agenda, was there any proper basis for EQUAL comparison in the first place? Did the YJC students compete on equal grounds with the RI/HCI students? Unless you can tell me the RI/HCI/YJC students are of the same calibre...
Just to find out more. Agenda, you were a poly students right? Did you manage to get the 'precious' slot in our fantastic local unis? If you have succeeded would you mind sharing the course you got? I really love to see more poly students in the law/medicine/dental faculty. I hope you are one of those who made it there because of 'equal right' and 'meritocracy' in our society!!!
I as a poly student read liao also dulan. My L1R5 less than 16 also go poly. No point writing an article asking us to reflect on our own choices. I'm not viewing diploma as my final destination.
"Polytechnic graduates cannot have it both ways. They must know the Government spends more to train a polytechnic graduate than a junior college (JC) student.
So they cannot expect a second bite of the cherry with the same priority in university admission as JC students who complete two years of school and hold only an A-level certificate."
Poly students also pay more for sch fees and we spend 3 years in education. Even transport fees are against us. I just hope for an increase in allocation % into uni and not exactly the same priority.
Please scrap Moral education in pri and sec sch. Thanks.
Originally posted by hoto:
You have totally misread Lee's message. When did Lee ever suggest that 'Poly students should not be given spots to university', as proclaimed by you? He merely said that JC students deserves priority in going to local university. Does this equates to saying polytechnic students should not be given any places? To make things easier for you to understand. Let me quote some of the stuffs he wrote..'they cannot expect a second bite of the cherry with the same priority in university admission as JC students'
'but they cannot expect greater access to local universities'
Agenda, tell me when did he ever say that poly students should not be getting any places in local uni?
In fact,the main point of his article is that JC students should deserve more priority and poly students should not persistently demand for an increase in % of uni places allocated to them. This is the point which I have tried to address in my previous reply. In what way have I turned the whole issue and change the context as you have so confidently claimed in your post. I would love to hear your argument. That is if you can provide one =D
If you're a JC student, I'm utterly disappointed as to what kind of education JC is giving you. I can't even start on your stupidity, actually if I were you, I would not even reply to this. (By agenda)
Haha. Why are you bashing the JC education system now? Are you trying to draw me into a mudslingering against the Poly education system? Sorry. You are not going to succeed. I would love to find the reason for your disdain towards the JC education. I seriously hope it's not inferiority complex at work again!!!
Anyway,you mentioned about equality and meritocracy. These ideas can only work if everybody is competing on equal grounds. Don't bring out these terms and use them indiscriminately when you did not even use your smart brain to think whether they are applicable in the first place.
Let me give you a simple analogy. Two students were the top students from their respective schools. One from RI or HCI while the other guy was from YJC. The top student from RI/HCI was given prestigious scholarship but not the top student from YJC. The YJC student then decided to bring out the lofty idea of equality and meritocracy (just like you Agenda) and demanding his rights to the prestigious scholarships because he's also a top student too, albeit from YJC.
Now Agenda, was there any proper basis for EQUAL comparison in the first place? Did the YJC students compete on equal grounds with the RI/HCI students? Unless you can tell me the RI/HCI/YJC students are of the same calibre...
Just to find out more. Agenda, you were a poly students right? Did you manage to get the 'precious' slot in our fantastic local unis? If you have succeeded would you mind sharing the course you got? I really love to see more poly students in the law/medicine/dental faculty. I hope you are one of those who made it there because of 'equal right' and 'meritocracy' in our society!!!
Wow you are so delusional
Well, let's see
Nothing should stop them from pursuing their dream overseas, but they cannot expect greater access to local universities just because it is costlier to study abroad. by LBT
Okay, let's first highlight some things
1) A Levels is only seen on same level as Diploma in SG & SEA, basically out of SEA, this cert is almost worthless in the real world industry.
2) Poly students must at least achieve 3.5 Cumulative Grade Point Average to "guarantee" a spot in a local Uni, this 3.5 must be maintained throughout 3 years - 6 semesters.
3) Why should Poly grads be the ones to go overseas?
First point, do you realise that A levels is practically a worthless certificate out of SEA and the commonwealth nations? Even in SG, do you expect to be paid the same as a Diploma Holder for the same job or even more? Diploma is a professional certificate, why should the unis NOT allocate more slots for holders of a professional certificate over students with qualifying certificate? This brings us to the 2nd point.
Do you realise for poly students, we must maintain our results for 3 years? How does that make us "less capable students" if we can constantly maintain our cGPA over 3 years when JC students basically just take some combined examination in 1 go and they can always retake if they fail. Mind you, there is no such thing as "retake" in poly, if you fail a subject, having a D will just bring your cGPA down to 3.0 which immediately disqualify you from local uni. I don't see how a student who has to maintain good result for 6 semesters is less capable and is taking the easy way out.
Last point, Why should poly graduates be expected to go overseas so that their JC counterparts can have more slots in a local uni? Yes, government gave us a lot of subsidies for Poly education, but can JC students choose to have taken this?
Firstly, how do you know many poly students took your so called "sheltered path" because of english and gp? I have many friends in poly who took GP and they scored A.
Less capable people, hmm, I won't accuse of elitism but read my above points.
Does being in JC automatically = more capable than poly students? Mind you, there is no limit in the As, Bs & Cs that can be given in poly. They don't have a quota to meet, so the students have to earn it themselves and cannot do 80% and hope their coursemates do not thus automatically granting them an A.
Plus my above point about poly students having to maintain results for 6 semesters.
This is basically because, it's the mindset set in that RJC is better than YJC. But between JC and Poly. That's a whole different story.
Yes, JC students scored better in O Levels, but ever heard of the term "late bloomers"? And just because you are better in studying academic subjects doesn't mean that you will automatically function properly in the real world.
Plus, JC is considered Secondary while Poly is Tertiary. It's totally different from secondary school and is a step up. Include my previous points, tell me, who is competing on shaky grounds between JC and Poly students. And considering the fact that, poly students only get about 15% to 20% slots in local uni despite having more students. I don't see it being too much to ask for more slots.
Let's say you have a Poly student whose cGPA is 3.60 and a JC student who got DDD/B. Who would you choose? A student who has consistently scored As & B+ or a student who scored Ds in 1 go.
No matter how I look at it, the poly student is still the star here.
I think the only difference is Time and Stress level. 2 years in JC and 3 years in poly says it all.
Originally posted by Agenda:Wow you are so delusional
Well, let's see
Nothing should stop them from pursuing their dream overseas, but they cannot expect greater access to local universities just because it is costlier to study abroad. by LBT
Okay, let's first highlight some things
1) A Levels is only seen on same level as Diploma in SG & SEA, basically out of SEA, this cert is almost worthless in the real world industry.
2) Poly students must at least achieve 3.5 Cumulative Grade Point Average to "guarantee" a spot in a local Uni, this 3.5 must be maintained throughout 3 years - 6 semesters.
3) Why should Poly grads be the ones to go overseas?First point, do you realise that A levels is practically a worthless certificate out of SEA and the commonwealth nations? Even in SG, do you expect to be paid the same as a Diploma Holder for the same job or even more? Diploma is a professional certificate, why should the unis NOT allocate more slots for holders of a professional certificate over students with qualifying certificate? This brings us to the 2nd point.
Do you realise for poly students, we must maintain our results for 3 years? How does that make us "less capable students" if we can constantly maintain our cGPA over 3 years when JC students basically just take some combined examination in 1 go and they can always retake if they fail. Mind you, there is no such thing as "retake" in poly, if you fail a subject, having a D will just bring your cGPA down to 3.0 which immediately disqualify you from local uni. I don't see how a student who has to maintain good result for 6 semesters is less capable and is taking the easy way out.
Last point, Why should poly graduates be expected to go overseas so that their JC counterparts can have more slots in a local uni? Yes, government gave us a lot of subsidies for Poly education, but can JC students choose to have taken this?
Firstly, how do you know many poly students took your so called "sheltered path" because of english and gp? I have many friends in poly who took GP and they scored A.
Less capable people, hmm, I won't accuse of elitism but read my above points.
Does being in JC automatically = more capable than poly students? Mind you, there is no limit in the As, Bs & Cs that can be given in poly. They don't have a quota to meet, so the students have to earn it themselves and cannot do 80% and hope their coursemates do not thus automatically granting them an A.
Plus my above point about poly students having to maintain results for 6 semesters.
This is basically because, it's the mindset set in that RJC is better than YJC. But between JC and Poly. That's a whole different story.
Yes, JC students scored better in O Levels, but ever heard of the term "late bloomers"? And just because you are better in studying academic subjects doesn't mean that you will automatically function properly in the real world.
Plus, JC is considered Secondary while Poly is Tertiary. It's totally different from secondary school and is a step up. Include my previous points, tell me, who is competing on shaky grounds between JC and Poly students. And considering the fact that, poly students only get about 15% to 20% slots in local uni despite having more students. I don't see it being too much to ask for more slots.
Let's say you have a Poly student whose cGPA is 3.60 and a JC student who got DDD/B. Who would you choose? A student who has consistently scored As & B+ or a student who scored Ds in 1 go.
No matter how I look at it, the poly student is still the star here.
wow... if a diploma is so precious and well accepted out of SEA, shouldn't u all look to these oversea unis for your further education. If it's so well recognised and highy sought after why arent poly grads given scholarships or even bursaries. LOL. Your point are full of contradictories...
u said tat a levels is practically useless out of SEA. LOL.I got the best laugh of today. Tks. If they were tat useless, why is it that RI and HCI students are being 'headhunted' by the ivy leagues b4 they even graduated??? They were lured with scholarships. LOL. How do u explain this?
I can understand ur inability to see the big pic. u are only a pre enlistee (remember me, i was the one who told u to look for ur answer to ur potential enlistment date fro other sources?).
Tell u wat la. All the generals u see in SAF will be from JC and from the Ivy Leagues. If poly was tat gr8 how come none of the generals tat i met or knew come from poly leh?
Originally posted by multipleviews:
wow... if a diploma is so precious and well accepted out of SEA, shouldn't u all look to these oversea unis for your further education. If it's so well recognised and highy sought after why arent poly grads given scholarships or even bursaries. LOL. Your point are full of contradictories...u said tat a levels is practically useless out of SEA. LOL.I got the best laugh of today. Tks. If they were tat useless, why is it that RI and HCI students are being 'headhunted' by the ivy leagues b4 they even graduated??? They were lured with scholarships. LOL. How do u explain this?
I can understand ur inability to see the big pic. u are only a pre enlistee (remember me, i was the one who told u to look for ur answer to ur potential enlistment date fro other sources?).
Tell u wat la. All the generals u see in SAF will be from JC and from the Ivy Leagues. If poly was tat gr8 how come none of the generals tat i met or knew come from poly leh?
Wow, you're stalking me aren't you?
Maybe I wasn't clear enough when I said real world industry, I meant working industry. Do you think A levels is worth nuts?
I don't know what kind of people you know in the army, but one thing though, if you don't know all of them, don't count your chickens before they hatch.
But judging by your joined date, I guess it's best for me to take you with a pinch of salt.
Originally posted by multipleviews:Tell u wat la. All the generals u see in SAF will be from JC and from the Ivy Leagues. If poly was tat gr8 how come none of the generals tat i met or knew come from poly leh?
Good call multipleviews, let me just hammer this freaking nail deeper into the coffin that is the ultimately futile vendetta that some disillusioned poly kids have against a clearly superior JC system in a meritocratic context.
I'd safely say that 99% of Singapore's politicians, doctors, lawyers, bankers and captains of industry are JC graduates. So the rest can just shut up about their precious poly certs. The only poly kids who really succeed are the top 5% of their cohorts or lucky punks who set up ridiculously successful bubble tea shops and fish farms. So to whoever: better go start honing your fish handling skills now =)
Oh and for those who say that poly certs are more valuable than A level certs, walk down to any secondary school and ask a random sample size of kids whether they'd like a 3.5GPA or 5 'A' Level distinctions more. And then shut the hell up
Originally posted by Agenda:Wow, you're stalking me aren't you?
Maybe I wasn't clear enough when I said real world industry, I meant working industry. Do you think A levels is worth nuts?
I don't know what kind of people you know in the army, but one thing though, if you don't know all of them, don't count your chickens before they hatch.
1. Any idiot who tries to apply for a long term job with a JC cert really belongs in poly.
2. You obviously dont know much about the SAF because here's a fact, the generals are mostly SAFOS scholars and poly students DONT get SAFOS scholarships =)
Originally posted by Agenda:Wow, you're stalking me aren't you?
But judging by your joined date, I guess it's best for me to take you with a pinch of salt.
haha. can't answer my question and u are trying to hide by pointing to the date which I joined?? lol. tat's the quality of a poly students who made it to local uni?? the supposedly top 15%????
Originally posted by HyperionDCZ:Good call multipleviews, let me just hammer this freaking nail deeper into the coffin that is the ultimately futile vendetta that disillusioned poly kids have against a clearly superior JC system in a meritocratic context.
I'd safely say that 99% of Singapore's politicians, doctors, lawyers, bankers and captains of industry are JC graduates. So the rest can just shut up about their precious poly certs. The only poly kids who really succeed are the top 5% of their cohorts or lucky punks who set up ridiculously successful bubble tea shops and fish farms. So to whoever: better go start honing your fish handling skills now =)
Oh and for those who say that poly certs are more valuable than A level certs, walk down to any secondary school and ask a random sample size of kids whether they'd like a 3.5GPA or 5 'A' Level distinctions more. And then shut the hell up
And some of the bosses in singapore dont even complete their o levels, your point ? Is study useless ? Ohh come on..... be more updated...... its not top 5% now.....
Originally posted by TTFU:And most of the bosses in singapore dont even complete their o levels, your point ? Is study useless ? Ohh come on..... be more updated...... its not top 5% now.....
Do substantiate on the "most".![]()
Originally posted by SBS2601D:
Do substantiate on the "most".
some !
Originally posted by TTFU:And most of the bosses in singapore dont even complete their o levels, your point ? Is study useless ? Ohh come on..... be more updated...... its not top 5% now.....
Bosses of the fish farms and bubble tea shops? you bet!
And just to be clear, I'm taking a dig at the ass clown JC bashers, not poly kids in general.
this freak agenda cant accept the truth. he is trying so hard to convince himself tat poly education is the best.jc students don't like to bash poly system for they do not want to appear elistic. but it's disgusting to see somebody inferior criticising the superior system and thinks he's smart bcos nobbody from the superior system said anything...
Originally posted by multipleviews:this freak agenda cant accept the truth. he is trying so hard to convince himself tat poly education is the best.jc students don't like to bash poly system for they do not want to appear elistic. but it's disgusting to see somebody inferior criticising the superior system and thinks he's smart bcos nobbody from the superior system said anything...
Wow, I really have to spoonfeed you don't I?
As for the rest of your statements, please read my previous replies before your embarass yourself again.
So apparently right now, I'm the poly grad suffering from inferior complexty yet looks down on everyone else. What does that make the both of you? Not very pretty isn't it?