23 years ago , i worked as a part timer for a hotel as banquet waiter during my school hols , the rate was $5.50 per hr .
23 years later today , a part timer's rate is $6.50 per hr.
When i told my pax about it , the poor boy got a shock and lamented to me how is he ever going to survive here?
23 years increase $1, i think its worse than 3rd world la
Originally posted by Bo Call Liao:23 years ago , i worked as a part timer for a hotel as banquet waiter during my school hols , the rate was $5.50 per hr .
When i told my pax about it , the poor boy got a shock and lamented to me how is he ever going to survive here?
20 years ago, 16 year old students on their vacation doing temp jobs were already making $5-$6 per hour doing simple clerical/admin stuff.
Those were the days. ![]()
I won't be surprised that the part timer rate today in some sectors might have dropped to less than $5 per hour because of the influx of cheaper foreigners today. ![]()
Originally posted by Bo Call Liao:23 years ago , i worked as a part timer for a hotel as banquet waiter during my school hols , the rate was $5.50 per hr .
23 years increase $1, i think its worse than 3rd world la dollar.
really this type of pricing foreigner talents can do at a lower rate.
trust me next life if you do ever et reborn as a human, don;t reborn as a singaporean.
its an open arse policy we have here
To make things worse, Singaporeans have no rights, no freedom or any free media.
then what about the hourly rate for people working at mcdonalds and KFC eh?
is it still $2.50 a hour?
Originally posted by Rooney9:then what about the hourly rate for people working at mcdonalds and KFC eh?
is it still $2.50 a hour?
20 yrs ago was $2 when i work for kfc... now?
Originally posted by I-like-flings(m):
20 yrs ago was $2 when i work for kfc... now?
maybe 2.10 now ![]()
slight better, just a 10 cent increase after 20 years later
how come our garmen are paid first class salary n the people r in third world standard?
are they robbing us?
23 years ago, $5.50 is worth more than $10 currently okay?!
Originally posted by Darkness_hacker99:23 years ago, $5.50 is worth more than $10 currently okay?!
20yrs ago my fishball noodles is only 1.5-2 nowadays is 3-3.5 leh.... my satay is only 25-30cent last time.. now is 40-50cent leh...knn
Anyone had the bucket pulled away while shitting?
Thats a third world experience you'll never forget.
Does it happen in Singapore?
this low purchasing power must be due to HDB and car prices. Where in the world you find citizens paying $1000 a month for 30 years on housing loans? Cars are the most expensive in the world here, not to mention road tax, erp, season parking, radio tax, petrol etc.
Originally posted by Rock^Star:this low purchasing power must be due to HDB and car prices. Where in the world you find citizens paying $1000 a month for 30 years on housing loans? Cars are the most expensive in the world here, not to mention road tax, erp, season parking, radio tax, petrol etc.
This is enough to shoot down the report that Singapore has third world living standards.
Originally posted by tranquilice:
Then who takes over the government? WP said they are not ready yet. Even if all opposition come to form a coalition, they are still not ready.
they are not ready?if they are not ready now then when will be ready?will they be ready at the cost of sporean citizens again as with the PAP?
and UBS swiss belong to singapore gov as it was bought over by spore last year!
perhaps spore gov knows they might lose the elections or something and are in process of dismantling spore turning it into what UBS states.
i suggest the opposition ready or not proceed with in depth damage control and security n integrity as spore as what we know it is today.because if the oppositions dont do it now n wait till elections n fall of PAP...it might already be too late....spore might very well end up like the soviet union and that will be the end of everyone and life that we know!
cigarettes also damned expensive.
public transport also damned expensive.
cars also damned expensive.
public housing also damned expensive.
nothing is cheap here in Singapore.
Originally posted by mancha:This is enough to shoot down the report that Singapore has third world living standards.
Spoken from a third world mentality indeed.
Originally posted by Vote PAP OUT to Save SG:cigarettes also damned expensive.
got ar... our salary is cheap lor...
Originally posted by Rock^Star:this low purchasing power must be due to HDB and car prices. Where in the world you find citizens paying $1000 a month for 30 years on housing loans? Cars are the most expensive in the world here, not to mention road tax, erp, season parking, radio tax, petrol etc.
The way you people gripe, wonder who has third world mentality.
Do you see third world traits in what you point out?
Use your head.
Originally posted by mancha:The way you people gripe, wonder who has third world mentality.
Do you see third world traits in what you point out?
Use your head.
Well speak for yourself, I guess. Your view of third world is textbook style.
The proverbial finger pointing applies then/.

LOL someone suddenly felt the need to rebuke the UBS study:
Singapore DOES NOT have third world living standards - KRC
Both articles are terrible. The first one doesn't attribute sources properly and wrongly equates purchasing power with living standards. But the second article misses that point altogether, and uses poor evidence. I studied in the States too and the most accessible lunches are US$5 (with a tumbler of soda) and even less (if you opt for junk), and it's little different on the street. If 400 Americans make as much money as half of the rest, what about the millionaires in Singapore (including those in power)?
Our spending habits are probably different from a Western European family of three but the study should not be doused with a truckload of salt.
Originally posted by Icerage:how come our garmen are paid first class salary n the people r in third world standard?
are they robbing us?
No, cannot be, the people votes for the govt, how on earth can peoples vote for a govt that rob them?
Originally posted by Vote PAP OUT to Save SG:cigarettes also damned expensive.
go, there are many cheap stuffs in Singapore, you just need to move around to find out.