Originally posted by Jia_Ni_loves_cats:I think i seriously to migrate one day. Sg is way to noisy for me.
Like what i told hitman before, i am an introvert.
i cannot stand the crowd too.
i used to think hong kong is way too crowded but still ok coz i was there only for a holiday.
now we are more crowded than hong kong and i find it unbearable.
True.
Everytime I am at a mall's food court, I will look around at the availability of seats before I decide to eat there.
Originally posted by Rock^Star:Oh now you're comapring this faux paus to Singlish hahaha. I don't think you come from my generation and we are on different frequencies here. So to each his own.
It will be easier to get your drift, if the PRC had in someway affected your chances of getting a job here.
But you are harping on the changes to the social landscape using this experience. Such changes are inevitable, with or without the influx of foreigners.
The days when we can just walk into our neighbour home, like angel said, are over. The community then knew who's who in their neighbourhood. Now we don't even know our neighbour names, although staying next to each other for years and years.
Things change.
Originally posted by dragg:do i have to spell everything out for you?
if a chinese and a malay were to converse of course they'll speak english because thats the only common language both knows. unless you have a malay speaking chinese or a chinese speaking malay involved. the same logic applies for indians. or do i have to type it all out so your tiny brain can understand?
speaking chinese means the world revolves around PRCs? are you saying your world revolves around the angmos since you speak english?
the fact you are so biased show just how shallow your mindset is. yet you have the cheek to say that to me.
use your fucking brains before you start insulting people.
btw if you have any sense you would have known from my reply to the TS that i am assuming he is a chinese. which i am quite sure he is.
Oh so now you are saying if a chinese and a malay/indian were to converse they use english?
Im not saying the world revolves around angmos, Im stating a fact that Singapore main language is English. Which is what you are typing now.
Its because of people like you who speaks chinese to PRC thats why the PRC probably thought the whole of singapore speaks chinese.
Thus there is no need for them to learn english.
So when they communicate with Locals, they speak chinese even though they are speaking to a malay or indian.
We are not PRC. We don't need to use chinese to communicate. We are singaporeans, we use english, singlish.
Fuck off cunt.
Things change, I miss those days when i was still kindergarden and i would to my neighbour's house and play with their kid.
Originally posted by gunner77:Oh so now you are saying if a chinese and a malay/indian were to converse they use english?
Im not saying the world revolves around angmos, Im stating a fact that Singapore main language is English. Which is what you are typing now.
Its because of people like you who speaks chinese to PRC thats why the PRC probably thought the whole of singapore speaks chinese.
Thus there is no need for them to learn english.
So when they communicate with Locals, they speak chinese even though they are speaking to a malay or indian.
We are not PRC. We don't need to use chinese to communicate. We are singaporeans, we use english, singlish.
Fuck off cunt.
my reply earlier was to the TS. not to you. and i dont give a fuck if you love being a banana.
You're pathetic dude.
You lose out on your arguments and started talking rubbish.
Nothing more than a cunt.
Originally posted by gunner77:
You're pathetic dude.
You lose out on your arguments and started talking rubbish.
Nothing more than a cunt.
if assuming you won makes you feel better you can carry on.
nothing more than a banana.
wah lau....don't take it personal leh haha....everyone has a right to their viewpoint, right or wrong.
Originally posted by mancha:It will be easier to get your drift, if the PRC had in someway affected your chances of getting a job here.
But you are harping on the changes to the social landscape using this experience. Such changes are inevitable, with or without the influx of foreigners.
The days when we can just walk into our neighbour home, like angel said, are over. The community then knew who's who in their neighbourhood. Now we don't even know our neighbour names, although staying next to each other for years and years.
Things change.
Well the difference is....I see the link, you don't. Who's right? If you think you are. No point carrying on this discussion. Cheers :)
Originally posted by Rock^Star:wah lau....don't take it personal leh haha....everyone has a right to their viewpoint, right or wrong.
if its just viewpoints i can certainly agree to disagree.
but i cannot accept people who add insults to their viewpoints.
Originally posted by dragg:if its just viewpoints i can certainly agree to disagree.
but i cannot accept people who add insults to their viewpoints.
Agreed. No personal attacks.
PRCs, why? Hey, fellow singaporeans let's not be at odds with each other because of PRCs!
once i wen to a hotel in sentosa to pick up a guest and wen to the reception n asked the gal there for the house phone.
the prc gal stared at me n kept mum n i repeated then a local guy told me the direction
i was wonderin whether that gal tot i was askin for her house telephone no or she dun understand wat is house phone
what you have encountered is the result of refusal of PRC to learn English. They are expecting all Singaporeans and foreigners in Singapore to give in to them to understand and speak Mandarin to them. Sounds like they are our customers we are serving them.
Govt just cannot be bothered with this problem and keep taking them in.
Originally posted by winsomeea:what you have encountered is the result of refusal of PRC to learn English. They are expecting all Singaporeans and foreigners in Singapore to give in to them to understand and speak Mandarin to them. Sounds like they are our customers we are serving them.
true
Some of them are stubborn, refuse to 入乡�俗 , in English "In Rome, do as the Romans do". Has this got to do with their arrogance?
Originally posted by winsomeea:what you have encountered is the result of refusal of PRC to learn English. They are expecting all Singaporeans and foreigners in Singapore to give in to them to understand and speak Mandarin to them. Sounds like they are our customers we are serving them.
Exactly!
You are able to see things buddy.
Unlike some cunts living in denial.
Why not renamed singapore to earth. So many people of so many countries behaved like singapore is their own country and we should adapt to them.
Originally posted by gunner77:
Exactly!You are able to see things buddy.
Unlike some cunts living in denial.
I have a few times have a straight talk to a few PRCs on their refusal to communicate and learn English.
One of them told me her job did not require her to speak English. This was not true, there were bangalas and foreigners patronizing the store she was working. Others responded that they were not interested and were so adamant that English is not what they will learn.
Every now and then I see PRC and the sales assistants or fast food chain crew communicating in "alien" ...................... I heard grievances on this problem from our local Malay and Indian singaporeans. tsk tsk tsk, what a shame!
I really hate those people who refused to learn english when working in singapore. I once went to jb, i was very surprised that a bus ticket seller girl was able to speak chinese fluently! if the malay girl can do it even in a malay speaking country, why can't our prc?
Originally posted by Jia_Ni_loves_cats:I really hate those people who refused to learn english when working in singapore. I once went to jb, i was very surprised that a bus ticket seller girl was able to speak chinese fluently! if the malay girl can do it even in a malay speaking country, why can't our prc?
It is a matter of attitude. Those PRC who refuse to learn English to work in Singapore have attitude problem. Who do they think they are we have to give in to them to speak Mandarin? They are in our land, do as we do here, we don't owe them a living.
haha thats what our FTs are good at esp their good seo services. nv fail to amazed us all e time~
Originally posted by BanguIzai:Don't be surprised.
Many Singaporean and Malaysian Indians now can be heard speaking Chinese dialects such as Hokkien, Teochew, and Cantonese.
Today I heard one again speaking Hokkien when buying food.
It is the Singaporean Chinese who have to catch up much more. Even Pasar Malay also cannot speak. Even other group's Chinese dialects also cannot speak. Even ownself Chinese dialect also cannot speak.
Well, I am pragmatic in my approach where dialects and languages are concerned. It is always good to speak more than one's own dialect and language though it is not as though they cannot survive if they do not.
Originally posted by Jia_Ni_loves_cats:I really hate those people who refused to learn english when working in singapore. I once went to jb, i was very surprised that a bus ticket seller girl was able to speak chinese fluently! if the malay girl can do it even in a malay speaking country, why can't our prc?
they only here to earn a quick buck, and to hook up any human with a pink ic or has a penis or they can milk dry that will hasten they ticket back home with some money and face.
nope don;t understadn wht saying how to learn? ![]()