SINGAPORE Airlines (SIA) incurred an unexpected $38 million loss in the three months from January to March.
It brought earnings for the full financial year to $336 million, a dip of almost 70 per cent on 2010-2011.
The loss also marked the carrier's first quarter in the red in more than two years. Analysts had projected that profits would fall due to high oil prices and weak yields, but the loss surprised many.
SIA said it went into the red mainly due to the cost of disposing of its last Boeing 747-400 aircraft.
Analysts, however, pointed out that even without taking into account the B-747 factor, the group - made up of the parent carrier, its regional arm SilkAir, SIA Cargo and SIA Engineering - suffered an operating loss of $5 million during the quarter.
Total spending for the 12 months ended March 31 increased by 10 per cent to $14.6 billion, mainly on the back of high fuel prices.
Although SIA carried more passengers during the year, stiff competition from other carriers, as well as weak economic growth in some markets, especially in Europe and the United States, put pressure on fares and pushed yields down.
The future has many challenges, the airline said. When he last met reporters and analysts in November, SIA chief executive officer Goh Choon Phong said the problems facing SIA were different from those during the last global financial slowdown in 2008.
Back then, the downturn was sharp but recovery came fairly quickly. Fuel prices also fell significantly.
SIA will pay shareholders a final dividend of 10 cents per share, down from 40 cents a year ago.
I am thinking of buying a samsung tab for my mum. Opinions?
so popular?
http://sg.entertainment.yahoo.com/blogs/singapore-showbiz/happy-call-pan-omenon-132809711.html
Originally posted by TehJarVu:
SIA shocker: $38m loss in fourth quarter
SINGAPORE Airlines (SIA) incurred an unexpected $38 million loss in the three months from January to March.
It brought earnings for the full financial year to $336 million, a dip of almost 70 per cent on 2010-2011.
The loss also marked the carrier's first quarter in the red in more than two years. Analysts had projected that profits would fall due to high oil prices and weak yields, but the loss surprised many.
SIA said it went into the red mainly due to the cost of disposing of its last Boeing 747-400 aircraft.
Analysts, however, pointed out that even without taking into account the B-747 factor, the group - made up of the parent carrier, its regional arm SilkAir, SIA Cargo and SIA Engineering - suffered an operating loss of $5 million during the quarter.
Total spending for the 12 months ended March 31 increased by 10 per cent to $14.6 billion, mainly on the back of high fuel prices.
Although SIA carried more passengers during the year, stiff competition from other carriers, as well as weak economic growth in some markets, especially in Europe and the United States, put pressure on fares and pushed yields down.
The future has many challenges, the airline said. When he last met reporters and analysts in November, SIA chief executive officer Goh Choon Phong said the problems facing SIA were different from those during the last global financial slowdown in 2008.
Back then, the downturn was sharp but recovery came fairly quickly. Fuel prices also fell significantly.
SIA will pay shareholders a final dividend of 10 cents per share, down from 40 cents a year ago.
wa kao.
Tiger airways not theirs rite.
mai lai mai lai... Heng I never buy SIA shares last month..
Originally posted by ^Acid^ aka s|aO^eH~:
chiu noob...
there are indian lunch buffets for $6.50 and even steamboat buffet at that price...
but nthing too fanciful of coz
Eh but for cartel u got starter and then got main and then got dessert & drinks..
not bad lor!
Indian bu fei 6.50 jiak liao will lau sai not ![]()
Originally posted by ditzy:I am thinking of buying a samsung tab for my mum. Opinions?
no regrets with Tabbie (1st gen 7" )
Originally posted by TehJarVu:oh motor says moscato is a sissy drink kekeke
It ish lol
I thinking of getting the 10" one.
Originally posted by laurence82:so popular?
http://sg.entertainment.yahoo.com/blogs/singapore-showbiz/happy-call-pan-omenon-132809711.html
no regrets
though not relli so adventurous to try out new recipes with it every other day
Their Happy Call community has become so popular that when they posted a recipe for "Muah Chee" (sticky steamed dough with peanuts), glutinous rice flour and peanut powder was sold out at most Giant and NTUC supermarkets for the next few days.
DAMN KUA ZHANG LOL!!
most friends with the tabbie seem happy with it. go for it
Originally posted by ditzy:I thinking of getting the 10" one.
bigger screen and slimmer
good for 伯� if she is not bringing it out in her handbag
So tablet cannot watch Xin Msn hor.
I think my family damn kua zhang. We have 6 computers for 4 peepur in the family.
And dad usually working so on average me didi and mama use 2 each lol
yes it's heavy but it's manageable
if moms has been using woks and pans, tt shd be not be a problem
plus, no need flip many times bcos the food gets cooked fast and even
many items arrived today
- a tub of loose powder
- 2 x eyeliner
- miniSD
- handbag
- handbag organiser
my letterbox so full until i almost cant pull out the things.
lazy postman just squeeze everything in instead of sending the bigger ones to my door
Originally posted by motoway:So tablet cannot watch Xin Msn hor.
I think my family damn kua zhang. We have 6 computers for 4 peepur in the family.
And dad usually working so on average me didi and mama use 2 each lol
2 each??? what kinda application are you using leh?
that's even more than my work/excel modelling
I also dont know.
Actually. That leaves 5 for my mama and didi since I only have 1 laptop w me in Italy..
Wa 5... LOL..
my only wish was to have 2 screens at the office since it's so difficult looking thru so many rows of excel
w00t
friday liao
shd i have BK for dinner tml?
Busy weekend for me.
Gonna be a mad rush until I step onto the plane..
looking forward to this sunday's dinner with fam!
It will be used at home only, with wifi.
Originally posted by TehJarVu:
SIA shocker: $38m loss in fourth quarter
Why is this in crapbox? ![]()
Why are u in crapbox? ![]()
Originally posted by FireIce:Why are u in crapbox?
Nobody want to post in University of Crappology.
Times are bad. ![]()