Originally posted by Navigator:hey i like tat show man. u watch the children of dune?? u shd if u havent. i have all 5 parts on my comp. its really good. full 5 hrs man. i spent a whole nite watching it. wanted to watch only half but cant. hehehe... well y navigator?? cuz untill i buy my own car i will be the navigator. tats y. but cuz of economy and other commitments, i guess tat will have to wait.![]()
Originally posted by Maya061:
[b]WAD'S CREATURE IS THAT ????
SO SCARY !!!![/b]
well i dun read these books anymore. read more newspapers and books on the business world now. hehe...Originally posted by the Bear:i have the first series on DVD.. looking around for Children of Dune on DVD...
read the series of books about 20 times already
Paul was such a tragic character... his son's fate is worse
Muad'Dib spent his life after prescience trying to escape the trap.. but never succeeding.. and his son spent the next 5,000 year mutating and trying to escape it..
read the booksmuch much MUCH better than the movie or the series!
he..he.. that's okay Bear. Dune ? let me see if got the copy here in indo.Originally posted by the Bear:oh dear.. sorry maya...
if there are video shops around, try to rent a copy of Dune.. the movie starring Kyle McLachlan..
that creature is a Spacing Guild Navigator.. which uses its limited linear prescience to fold space for space travel in the Dune series..
it was human.. and injesting of the Spice Melange, and space travel has caused it to mutate into that..
just science fiction... don't be scared okay?
Originally posted by Maya061:he..he.. that's okay Bear. Dune ? let me see if got the copy here in indo.
older than Star Wars ?
whooaaa.. i dunno that you are so into books !!!Originally posted by the Bear:i think Lynch was asked to do Return of the Jedi but he declined to do Dune..
it's a good story... but if can, and you're into good books, do get the whole series of books.. recently added to the original 6 book are the "prequels" written by the original author's son...
so far,
Dune
Dune Messiah
Children of Dune
God Emperor of Dune
Heretics of Dune
Chapterhouse: Dune
and the prequels:
House Atreides
House Harkonnen
House Corrino
Dune: The Butlerian Jihad
and i think there should be a new one out soon:
Dune: The Machine Crusade
Originally posted by Maya061:whooaaa.. i dunno that you are so into books !!!
can i borrow ?..he..he..![]()
yah lor books shd be read.. haiz my collection of hardy boys and the 3 investigators all gone. mum gave them away. i had the whole collection lor.. still so sad. i had those when i was like 5 yrs old. haiz.. so so sad.Originally posted by the Bear:if you were in singapore, of course!
but i think i left the majority of those books at Her place
i think only about 50% of the books i have ever bought in my life are in my possession now.. most have been lost, given away, or just lent out and never returned... but it's okaybooks should be read and if someone is reading them, it's a good thing
Originally posted by Navigator:yah lor books shd be read.. haiz my collection of hardy boys and the 3 investigators all gone. mum gave them away. i had the whole collection lor.. still so sad. i had those when i was like 5 yrs old. haiz.. so so sad.
waaahh...how nice... xie xie !Originally posted by the Bear:if you were in singapore, of course!
but i think i left the majority of those books at Her place
i think only about 50% of the books i have ever bought in my life are in my possession now.. most have been lost, given away, or just lent out and never returned... but it's okaybooks should be read and if someone is reading them, it's a good thing
Originally posted by Maya061:waaahh...how nice... xie xie !
i will definitely borrow when i got there lor..he..he..
dun worry..i'll return it, i also love to read.
but my collections are mostly enid blyton lor..ha..ha.. and all the fairy tales stories.
and now even only buy recipes / cooking books and kitchen design books..he..he..
hahaahahaOriginally posted by the Bear:i gave them up actually.. never read much of those.. being a warped soul, i was reading stuff like Bram Stoker's Dracula and other stuff like that from Pr.4
probably why i'm so messed up now
wah learning to be a housewife already.. 'tsk tsk'Originally posted by Maya061:waaahh...how nice... xie xie !
i will definitely borrow when i got there lor..he..he..
dun worry..i'll return it, i also love to read.
but my collections are mostly enid blyton lor..ha..ha.. and all the fairy tales stories.
and now even only buy recipes / cooking books and kitchen design books..he..he..
Banana Yoshimoto ? wad issit about ? waahh..so curious. maybe i could get it at kinokuniya here.Originally posted by the Bear:hmm.. cookery..learning to cook? try to imagine the tastes of different ingredients, and how they should be cooked.. then experiment.. much better and you'll get your own original recipes like that.. after a while, you'll not need recipes anymore
as for books, return or not, does not really matter actuallymost books i have, i don't read more than once
i just downloaded a short story of the Dune seriesjust 18 pages.. helps tie together the books The Butlerian JIhad and The Machine Crusade..
i think i shall make a trip to Borders on Thursday...
oh, more books to recommend: these are buy to keep and read again and again books.. try reading the books by this Japanese lady (translated into English of course) with a strange name: Banana Yoshimoto
they're quirkly and it's hard to put the book down once you start..
ha..ha.. no lah. i just love baking. and wanna have my own cake shop.Originally posted by Navigator:wah learning to be a housewife already.. 'tsk tsk'![]()
Originally posted by Maya061:Banana Yoshimoto ? wad issit about ? waahh..so curious. maybe i could get it at kinokuniya here.
Borders.. i really love that book store, i spent a whole day there when i was in sg. and feels like coming back the next day. kinokuniya is sooo big also yah. in indo only small small lor..
you cook, Bear ? it seems you know loadsa good food and makan place lor.. if i go there, should ask you to show me around good makan place...he..he..![]()
wah own cake shop?? i think its runs within the blood to have ur own makan place huh. hehe.. so let me know once u have it. i will personally fly up to try the cakes.Originally posted by Maya061:ha..ha.. no lah. i just love baking. and wanna have my own cake shop.![]()
i thought u love to try different kinda foods ..Originally posted by the Bear:used to have to cook when in uni.. kinda don't anymore.. on account of my mom hiring a maid...
and makan places, i'm lazy so don't know many.. simple man so just need to eat.. if it's horrible, i'll not go there again.. if it isn't that bad, i don't mind it
Originally posted by Navigator:wah own cake shop?? i think its runs within the blood to have ur own makan place huh. hehe.. so let me know once u have it. i will personally fly up to try the cakes.
Originally posted by Maya061:i thought u love to try different kinda foods ..
that Banana Yoshimoto..tell me if u got the details please..![]()
wah wat r u working as ah??Originally posted by the Bear:back
being sunday morning, not much happened so not much to do
try her books.. a few titles are:
Kitchen
N. P.
Lizard
and my personal favourite... Amrita
Originally posted by Navigator:wah wat r u working as ah??
i thought Banana.. is the tittle...Originally posted by the Bear:back
being sunday morning, not much happened so not much to do
try her books.. a few titles are:
Kitchen
N. P.
Lizard
and my personal favourite... Amrita
Originally posted by Maya061:i thought Banana.. is the tittle...
i'll check at kinokuniya here..![]()