CHC is independent church right? That's why I think they can "ordain" their own pastors this way.Originally posted by NeonTetra:She is STILL a pastor. nv did she quit.
I think more often than not, the christian spouse is the picky one. I think many non-christians do not mind going to church and attend a service, after all if they're tolerant of other religions. But ask a christian accompany the spouse go temple pray pray, the christian will refuse this refuse that, say cannot pray to idol, not good to hold joss stick, not good to donate to another religion etc. Then at home the christian will be evangelist and try to convert the spouse. Then the "threat" that the spouse will go hell if not a christian pop out .. blah blah And if I'm not wrong, Catholics "require" that the non-christian spouse be converted before the marriage right?Originally posted by mineral:I wouldn't call it a rule but a guideline. It's always better to find a spouse who have the same spiritual beliefs so that they will "move" in the same direction. In context of the bible verse where this concept is taken from, it was warning the believes not to mingle with people who do not follow God and thus causing the believer to stumble.
The problem comes when the non-believers get more pissed off with the image Sun is portraying.Originally posted by KittynMeow:it is just taking another avenue to spread the awareness of the faith and reach out to people, especially those who switch off even before they bother to find out what Christianity is about...
in a way i think it can't be helped .... because whether it's ho yeow sun or whoever, as soon as non-believers know that someone is a Christian, they expect that person to be a superhuman with all the misperceptions or stereotypes of what they think Christians should be like....and that is a probable reason why non-believers don't like her... because people tend to forget that Christians are human too and therefore not perfect....Originally posted by Icemoon:The problem comes when the non-believers get more pissed off with the image Sun is portraying.
I think her intention is good, but she should just be the good girl, good music director, and don't create controversial news. Have a healthy image, I mean.![]()
thats one little problem. are u a christian?Originally posted by weidev:i don like HYS cos she don give me a gd feeling in terms of singing... don noe y i juz don like her songs... prefer Sun Yan Zi... regarding CHC... used to find them okay... but recently... hate them to the core... cos tried to break up me n my gf... watever la... don like them liao...
she said she no more pastor liaoz laOriginally posted by NeonTetra:She is STILL a pastor. nv did she quit. she is just venturing into another interest...does not clash with biblical teachings.
I suspect you never read that verse by Paul. The reason Paul gave was not that women were behind kitchen people. It's applicable to first century Palestine, it's applicable now.Originally posted by dumbdumb!:this idea about women shouldn't be pastor la.. i agreed. at that time.. women are viewed by society as the behind kitchen people, man are the leaders.
and look at the palestinians. but u really think the root of the problem is just because women are ordained?Originally posted by Icemoon:I suspect you never read that verse by Paul. The reason Paul gave was not that women were behind kitchen people. It's applicable to first century Palestine, it's applicable now.
Yes, women are more educated now. But it isn't about education in the first place. The Bible never say that women cannot be great teachers. I quote you the example of Priscilla who tutored Apollo.

no... and nt for days to come...Originally posted by dumbdumb!:thats one little problem. are u a christian?
I agree with wat u say totally! High 5 !Originally posted by Nachons:ok I'm here to leave my 2 cents worth.
First of all,I must clarify that I am a Christian, not a staunch Christian, but I am a Christian. And although I'm not from CHC, I have nothing against them. Secondly, I have nothing against pastors, 1 of my best friends married a pastor in US...And like many people, I do not see the big deal about the dress matter...
I'm an avid music lover, I tune in to almost all channels of radio all day and visit record stores on a daily basis. From a music-listener's point of view, Ho Yeow Sun's albums should not be selling as well as it allegedly does! I seriously cannot remember any 1 of her songs! It's not that I'm bias or what....like say, I don't like 5566 but I know certain songs are sung by them...I may not be a fan of Alan Tam or Gigi Leung, but at least I can name some of his songs....and so on. Of course you may argue that these songs are very much requested on radio or something like that but if HYS cds are selling like hot cakes and she's the best selling artiste in the region, does that not mean her songs are so wonderfully fantastic and that everyone wants to request her songs on the radio?
Secondly, her voice is really mediocre! She sounds exactly like the girl next to me in church every week-- and I do stand next to a different girl every week!It's ridiculous to indicate that her vocals are so powerful that people will just sit up and pay attention. Everyone knows you have to have a unique voice (esp if You're Singaporean) to make it in the music scene :think: Sun Yanzi, Ah Du...
Thirdly, I have seen her church members(I may be wrong) in action during the period of the last album. I was in Tower Records and you see a bunch of (very obviously church-goers)--stone eyed, enter the store and walk straight to her cds and each of them took up like 10 copies and brought straight to the counter. The only reason I noticed was coz' their actions were so weird.
Lastly, the Straits Times article with her pastor hubby was very very disappointing! I was hoping for a good answer to everyone's queries but as a pastor, I think he did a very bad job of defending his stance. I would have to say that from the way he answered, I can imagine how he can psycho church members into buying the cds without 'forcing' them to. If anyone has the article, you can see that the pastor does not answer any of the questions directly but goes around it. I guess it's what you call da fei suo wen.
Also, if you make a search on 'Ho Yeow Sun' on google or yahoo, you will find ABSOLUTELY NO fanpages on her. Pls don't say that's coz she's not an idol singler. Even old foggie singers like Cai Qin, Su Rui have fan pages...I don't really understand why a top selling artiste do not have the fans who want to dedicate a page to her....think about it.
nt necessary local singer we must support... if we support juz becos local... then anybody can come out with a album thinking... nvm... singaporeans will support me... wat mentality is tat? even though it is local singers... we onli support QUALITY local singers... read: SYZ, Tanya Chua, Kit Chan... not ppl with NO talents like HYS and Stella Huang... Outstanding Young Award is given to her cos of her leadership with the church... nt due to her singing "talents"...Originally posted by ibtrdia:Here's my 50 cents.
I'm quite sad to hear on a local radio station badmouthing her.
No support for a fellow Singaporean, only want to criticise.
Hah? Stella no talent meh? I still waiting for her to sing NDP song lehOriginally posted by weidev:not ppl with NO talents like HYS and Stella Huang
stella also another one cute until like act like tat... she okay... but compared to "talents"... she is still nt there yet...Originally posted by Icemoon:Hah? Stella no talent meh? I still waiting for her to sing NDP song leh![]()
I tend to think the recording process will sort of beautify your voice. If you say her voice is mediocre, then her actual voice could be worse?Originally posted by Nachons:Secondly, her voice is really mediocre! She sounds exactly like the girl next to me in church every week
Also, if you make a search on 'Ho Yeow Sun' on google or yahoo, you will find ABSOLUTELY NO fanpages on her.