Originally posted by eagle:He's a poor thing. A sad lifeform that's trolling around the forums seeking some form of solace for his real life insecurity.
What to do ?
He's a pitiful loser in real life come on-line to be a virtual loser ....sigh....
Originally posted by jojobeach:
Nah.. I prefer to play with you leh...
Proper discussion with you is useless lah.. so why bother ?
Got lah USA got many sex shop lah.. but 1900 is chargeable lor.... since you are for freee.. I play with you lah !!!
It seemed many people like to live the US dream n I believe out of the 1000 local giving up their citizenship, some of them go to US to get green card.
Originally posted by will4:It seemed many people like to live the US dream n I believe out of the 1000 local giving up their citizenship, some of them go to US to get green card.
US got US dream...
SG got what dream ?
Yes want to get green card.. (is really not a green in color) only the wordings in the back is green.
But unlike Singapore.. it is not so easy to get a permanent resident in USA.
Originally posted by jojobeach:US got US dream...
SG got what dream ?
Yes want to get green card.. (is really not a green in color) only the wordings in the back is green.
I just gone to Indonesian embassy to extend my passport n happened to talk to an Indonesian lady n she mentioned her two daughter studying at secondary school got
PR given by govt.
Originally posted by jojobeach:US got US dream...
SG got what dream ?
I think fymk said before that Gazelle was rejected PR by Aussie
Eagle, Day in day out, you keep calling forummer troll this troll that without even realising that you are the biggest troll in this forum.
Please read back you last 30 posts in this thread and tell me which part of what you wrote is related to the topic of this thread?
What is love? (want to know if he is falling in love)
What do u look for in ur life partners? (want to know how to choose girl)
What do gals do when they show interest? (want to know is any girls like him)
Gals, how would u prefer to be ask out on a date? (Want to learn how to date a girl)
Guys, how wil u choose? (how lian, want to tell other he has choice!!)
How do u tell ur parents you got gf? (planning forward, because he anticipate that he will want to bring gf back to make out)
Love at first sight (still living in his little fantasy)
How would you ask your friend for any sexual activity? (horny bastard want to ask girl for sex)
How much money to do you need to get married? (thinking of getting married when he is still a student? maybe thinking of using marriage to hold on to her gf)
Reasons why you would go for Singles Club outing (want to know if he is the only one looking for sex)
Are you attracted by intelligence (he doesnt have charm and want to know if by studying hard will it attract opposite sex)
It is the fear of rejection (Still struggling, no balls to approach chic)
Reason why there are matchmakers (Trying to find out if there is a need to go to one in future)
Define girly / manly (Some girls must have commented that he is girly)
Being single or attached (asking if being single is ok)
10 Things You Must Know About Fat Loss (Trying to look manly because he is one fat cubby mama's boy)
Lucky Singles Club not Desperate Club (Trying to assure himself he is not desperate)
Supposed you are attached what would you do to hold on to your girl/guy? (GF is leaving him, want to know who to hold her back)
stupidissmart
how come 1 week le MOM haven't reply?
And have you read today's straits times headlines? I presume you can make a more informed conclusion now about the job market?
Dear Mr Chan
We refer to your email dated 23 July 2008.
We sincerely apologise for the delay in responding to you and appreciate your kind understanding.
The CPF contribution for every local worker is compared with the worker's declared income via inter-government agency arrangements
to determine whether a worker is considered a full-time or a part-time employee. The Dependency Ceiling of a company is computed
based on the aggregate number of qualifying local full-time workforce. However, there is no specific acceptable CPF contribution
rate or amount for an employee to be considered a full-timer as the CPF contribution rate depends on a host of factors, including
the employee's age.
For more information, you may visit MOM's website at www.mom.gov.sg.
Should you have further enquiries or clarifications, you may write to us via our e-feedback at
http://www.mom.gov.sg/publish/momportal/en/header/feedback.html?action=reply&value=FB0807003714_2447826_2_A84CFD58
Alternatively, you may use our new online FAQ at http://www.mom.gov.sg/publish/momportal/en/help/faq.html
Please do not reply to this account as this is an automated mailbox.
Thank you.
Yours sincerely
Normawati Kamsani (Ms)
Customer Service Associate Executive
Sorry huh... Did not check the email regularly but here is the reply. The answer given is strange and therefore I send another mail over to enquire further.
On the employment rate of singapore, didn't I already say tat the problem of foreigners is not tis year but in previous years as well. Sure, tis year seems to be a bad year for unemployment however 2.3% is still considered low.
Weren't you telling me that although both me and redDust were telling you how bad the job market was, you felt that it was controlled?
http://www.straitstimes.com/Free/Story/STIStory_263172.html
Surely you see these lines:
Analysts see this shift as signalling a possible slowdown in jobs, with employers now more cautious about hiring.
And talking about NBS or SMU students:
Anecdotally, I hear that fresh grads may find it hard to get jobs in the financial sector,' he said.
And finally
Further underlining the sober outlook is the rise in unemployment, for the second quarter in a row.
Previous years, the economy was booming. Furthermore, FTs and FWs were not as prevalent in the last major recession in 97's. I have no complaints about very highly educated FTs or FWs doing jobs that Singaporeans do not want to do. But there are now jobs that Singaporeans want to do, but taken by foreigners, such that even my friends who recently graduated cannot find jobs.
Employers are still hungry for workers, he said, pointing out that the labour market is still 'tight'.
Employers are still hungry for workers, but how many being employed are Singaporeans?
My bottomline: What is going to happen to our fellow Singaporean graduates when they have a SGD24k debt (bank 4.75% interest or CPF 2.6% interest) and have no jobs?
Singapore is
Work Work Work Work Work Work Work and MORE WORK
Japan is
Work Sex Work Sex Work Sex Work Sex Work Sex Work Sex
China is
Invade Invade Invade Invade Invade Invade Invade Invade Invade
Australia is
Relaxzzzz
Which 1 will u choose =)
Previous years, the economy was booming. Furthermore, FTs and FWs were not as prevalent in the last major recession in 97's. I have no complaints about very highly educated FTs or FWs doing jobs that Singaporeans do not want to do. But there are now jobs that Singaporeans want to do, but taken by foreigners, such that even my friends who recently graduated cannot find jobs.
Economy sometimes behave like a yo yo, there is up and down. Now u see, previously we need foreigner in order for our econmy to grow. Now then we face a recession, u want them to psk their bags and go immediately ? The only thing tat can be done is by reducing the number of people coming in, not by chasing them all away.
Furthermore, 2.3% is still pretty low compared with similar economies
Originally posted by stupidissmart:Economy sometimes behave like a yo yo, there is up and down. Now u see, previously we need foreigner in order for our econmy to grow. Now then we face a recession, u want them to psk their bags and go immediately ? The only thing tat can be done is by reducing the number of people coming in, not by chasing them all away.
I read that vacancy is increasing in the construction sector or primarily the service sector which the local shunned.
Originally posted by stupidissmart:Economy sometimes behave like a yo yo, there is up and down. Now u see, previously we need foreigner in order for our econmy to grow. Now then we face a recession, u want them to psk their bags and go immediately ? The only thing tat can be done is by reducing the number of people coming in, not by chasing them all away.
is singapore reducing the ft intake despite this situation?
i think it is still pouring in unabated.
separately, my ft colleague, mid-level executive like me, got the pink slip a couple of weeks ago. just bought his own place 1.5 years ago, and child beginning to settle in and like the school. next 90days, if nothing comes by, he needs to pack up. it's a cruel blow to him and i sympathize with his predicament.
sign of things to come?
sighs.
oxymoron.
is singapore reducing the ft intake despite this situation?
i think it is still pouring in unabated.
separately, my ft colleague, mid-level executive like me, got the pink slip a couple of weeks ago. just bought his own place 1.5 years ago, and child beginning to settle in and like the school. next 90days, if nothing comes by, he needs to pack up. it's a cruel blow to him and i sympathize with his predicament.
I think the one we see now r probably the old one tat had stayed for a period of time, not someone who had come in 2-3 months ago.
About your FT colleague, sad to say tis is a cruel world. The same thing could have happened to singaporean relocating overseas as well. At least he had made money when he bought a place 1.5 years ago. If I am not wrong the price for a place now is more expensive than 1.5 years ago...
Originally posted by stupidissmart:I think the one we see now r probably the old one tat had stayed for a period of time, not someone who had come in 2-3 months ago.
About your FT colleague, sad to say tis is a cruel world. The same thing could have happened to singaporean relocating overseas as well. At least he had made money when he bought a place 1.5 years ago. If I am not wrong the price for a place now is more expensive than 1.5 years ago...
yes, he will make money if he is forced to sell...
Originally posted by stupidissmart:I think the one we see now r probably the old one tat had stayed for a period of time, not someone who had come in 2-3 months ago.
I think the one we see now r probably the old one tat had stayed for a period of time, not someone who had come in 2-3 months ago.
I can tell you that the company (MNC) I worked at employed quite a handful from Malaysia and 2 from the philippines.
I'm not including those PRCs and Malaysians that they have employed and just graduated from NUS/NTU.
In proportion, much less Singaporeans were employed, probably only to maintain the Singaporeans to foreigners ratio.
I mentioned nothing about chasing those already here away. They have contributed a lot I believe, they have the right to stay.
I'm implying the one you mentioned in red. Guess we reached an agreement here.
I do not know the exact figures but my guess is tat the gov is reducing the number of foreigners coming over when there is a high unemployment rate. Just think about it ba.. wat benefits does the gov earn when more foreigners come in and replace the local's job and they r running out of job ? I only hear tat it is much harder now for a foreigner to get a scholarship to come to singapore for study recently due to the poor economy prospect.
Originally posted by stupidissmart:I do not know the exact figures but my guess is tat the gov is reducing the number of foreigners coming over when there is a high unemployment rate. Just think about it ba.. wat benefits does the gov earn when more foreigners come in and replace the local's job and they r running out of job ? I only hear tat it is much harder now for a foreigner to get a scholarship to come to singapore for study recently due to the poor economy prospect.
Well, what I see and what my friends experienced is different. As a new hire, I see many other new hires at the induction program of the company, and most, I can say, are not Singaporeans (fresh from overseas, with some foreign scholars fresh from NUS/NTU). It's those fresh from overseas that I'm talking about. At the very least, I believe there is no change in the local to foreign ratio at the moment.
When the economy is good, there's perfect reason for them to come. I supported it in this forum quite a few months back. But now, when the economy isn't looking that great???
What benefits does the gov get? They still get income tax from the foreigners. The companies earn more (than if they employ Singaporeans), and pay higher income tax. Money wise, the government will lose nothing be it locals working or foreigners working. It's the people's support that they are already starting to lose if they continue to do the same things (which they are).
When the economy is good, there's perfect reason for them to come. I supported it in this forum quite a few months back. But now, when the economy isn't looking that great???
Tat is why I say the number coming in is probably reduced
What benefits does the gov get? They still get income tax from the foreigners. The companies earn more (than if they employ Singaporeans), and pay higher income tax. Money wise, the government will lose nothing be it locals working or foreigners working. It's the people's support that they are already starting to lose if they continue to do the same things (which they are).
Income tax ? Singaporean earning more also give the gov more tax. Singaporean is likely to spend the money more in singapore like HDB and cars which resulted in more tax to the country too. Foreigners like to remit the money back to their homeland. U also stated the gov will lose the support of the people if singaporean cannot find job. Maybe tis is strange to u but the gov is pretty sensitive to their popularity among the singaporean. To them they really have everything to lose and nothing to gain if they recruit foreigners blindly
Originally posted by stupidissmart:Tat is why I say the number coming in is probably reduced
Income tax ? Singaporean earning more also give the gov more tax. Singaporean is likely to spend the money more in singapore like HDB and cars which resulted in more tax to the country too. Foreigners like to remit the money back to their homeland. U also stated the gov will lose the support of the people if singaporean cannot find job. Maybe tis is strange to u but the gov is pretty sensitive to their popularity among the singaporean. To them they really have everything to lose and nothing to gain if they recruit foreigners blindly
Tat is why I say the number coming in is probably reduced
Which means you aren't sure too. But I can guarantee that it is not what I observed at the MNC I'm in.
income tax ? Singaporean earning more also give the gov more tax. Singaporean is likely to spend the money more in singapore like HDB and cars which resulted in more tax to the country too. Foreigners like to remit the money back to their homeland. U also stated the gov will lose the support of the people if singaporean cannot find job. Maybe tis is strange to u but the gov is pretty sensitive to their popularity among the singaporean. To them they really have everything to lose and nothing to gain if they recruit foreigners blindly
Really? We see the popular vote for the incumbent being eroded every year. It only raised a bit when GCT announced it would be his last election before he stepped down as PM, other than that, it has been constantly on the decline.
I can also tell you frankly now that they have lost my support since the last election too. What's worse than taxes increasing here and there without having an almost comparable raise in salary, and the extremely precise time of increasing the GST just before the quite expected economic downturn?
Originally posted by eagle:Which means you aren't sure too. But I can guarantee that it is not what I observed at the MNC I'm in.
Really? We see the popular vote for the incumbent being eroded every year. It only raised a bit when GCT announced it would be his last election before he stepped down as PM, other than that, it has been constantly on the decline.
I can also tell you frankly now that they have lost my support since the last election too. What's worse than taxes increasing here and there without having an almost comparable raise in salary, and at the extreme precise time of increasing the GST just before the quite expected economic downturn?
Actually they lost alot of ground the past election, if they hadn't given out money to entice voters, kept secret the announcement about GST increases, they would have lost alot more seats.
Which means you aren't sure too. But I can guarantee that it is not what I observed at the MNC I'm in.
There is no statistic studies which I can refer to therefore I cannot claim anything. I can only say i got wind of information tat they r recruiting less foreign scholars tis year due to the poor economic prospect and tat is why I extrapolate to the job market. As said, it is reduced the number of foreigners, not stop altogether so if u see some foreigners coming in, it cannot determined anything
I can also tell you frankly now that they have lost my support since the last election too. What's worse than taxes increasing here and there without having an almost comparable raise in salary, and at the extreme precise time of increasing the GST just before the quite expected economic downturn?
Ss said before, life is gonna get harder due to the competition with the region. The increase in prices is due to oil and food etc so it is nothing much anyone can do. I just feel tat the gov is not bad for example teaching people how to save money by using lesser electricity and eating frozen meat or finding other food sources.
Anyway the bottomline is still the gov has nothing to gain from finding excessive foreigners
If u think they do not deserve your vote... well it is your choice
Originally posted by stupidissmart:There is no statistic studies which I can refer to therefore I cannot claim anything. I can only say i got wind of information tat they r recruiting less foreign scholars tis year due to the poor economic prospect and tat is why I extrapolate to the job market. As said, it is reduced the number of foreigners, not stop altogether so if u see some foreigners coming in, it cannot determined anything
Ss said before, life is gonna get harder due to the competition with the region. The increase in prices is due to oil and food etc so it is nothing much anyone can do. I just feel tat the gov is not bad for example teaching people how to save money by using lesser electricity and eating frozen meat or finding other food sources.
Anyway the bottomline is still the gov has nothing to gain from finding excessive foreigners
There is no statistic studies which I can refer to therefore I cannot claim anything. I can only say i got wind of information tat they r recruiting less foreign scholars tis year due to the poor economic prospect and tat is why I extrapolate to the job market. As said, it is reduced the number of foreigners, not stop altogether so if u see some foreigners coming in, it cannot determined anything
If they are really recruiting less foreign scholars this year due to poor economic prospect, all the worse it shows for the planners in the government. These scholars will only come out to the job market a few years later, and not at the current moment.
And I'm not talking about scholars that studied under the Singapore education system. I'm talking about fresh grads from UM or other countries being employed over Singaporeans.
And ya... I have no idea why you think you 'getting wind of information' could be a more reliable info than what was being observed.
You have totally missed the point. It is not about life getting harder due to competition, or increases in prices, etc. It is about the precise timing of raising taxes just before the economic downturn. I'm saying that this economic downturn was sort of expected. That's the main reason which prompted me to search for a job years before I graduate.
Well, if the government has nothing to gain from finding excessive foreigners, then maybe you could attempt to explain my observations that I have told you about.